President Confers Padma Awards

Pranab Mukherjee conferred Padma awards on 56 eminent personalities, including Anupam Kher and Sri Sri Ravi Shankar.

Published: 28th March 2016 01:12 PM  |   Last Updated: 28th March 2016 01:12 PM   |  A+A-


Indian President Pranab Mukherjee (PTI Photo)


NEW DELHI: President Pranab Mukherjee on Monday conferred Padma awards on 56 eminent personalities, including Dhirubhai Ambani (posthumously), actor Anupam Kher and former Comptroller and Auditor General of India Vinod Rai, at a function at Rashtrapati Bhavan here.

Mukherjee bestowed Padma Vibhushan on Ambani, economist Avinash Kamalakar Dixit, former Jammu and Kashmir governor Jagmohan, danseuse Yamini Krishnamurthi and spiritual guru Sri Sri Ravi Shankar. 

Padma Bhushan awardees included architect Hafeez Sorabe Contractor, educationist and journalist Barjinder Singh Hamdard, actor Anupam Kher, industrialist Pallonji Shapoorji Mistry, badminton star Saina Nehwal, scientist Alla Ventaka Rama Rao and gastroenterologist Duvvur Nageshwar Reddy. 

The 43 Padma Shri awardees included ISRO scientist Mylswamy Annadurai, filmmaker Madhur Bhandarkar, actor Ajay Devgn, archer Deepika Kumari and celebrated chef Mohammed Imtiaz Qureshi.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp