Poll panel proposes cap on expenditure for legislative council polls

EC has said that the expenditure limit for this category of elections could be half of the limit for assembly elections.

Published: 01st March 2017 07:50 PM  |   Last Updated: 01st March 2017 07:50 PM   |  A+A-

By Express News Service

NEW DELHI: With a view to check the use of black money, the Election Commission has proposed putting a cap on expenditure by candidates in certain legislative council polls.

Unlike the limit on expenditure in assembly polls, Officials said that at present, there is no cap on expenditure on candidates contesting legislative council polls. Jammu and Kashmir, Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, Karnataka and Telangana have legislative councils.

The EC has said that the expenditure limit for this category of elections could be half of the limit for assembly elections in these states. At present, the expenditure limit for candidates in assembly elections is set at Rs 28 lakh in Bihar, Andhra Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra and Karnataka. It would mean that once the amendments are made in the Representation of the People Act, the expenditure ceiling of candidates contesting legislative council elections in these states would be Rs 14 lakh.

According to the sources, the poll panel told the Law ministry recently that the provision for maintaining and lodging of election expenses be extended to all contesting candidates of local authorities’, graduates’ and teachers’ constituencies in legislative council polls.

Responding to the proposal, the Law ministry has advised that it would be better to seek the views of political parties and states where legislative councils are functioning before moving ahead.

The Law Ministry is the nodal ministry dealing with issues involving the Election Commission. Most of the members of the legislative councils are elected through five different constituencies. One-third of the members are elected by representatives of the local authorities; another one-third are elected by members of the legislative assembly; one-twelfth are elected by the graduates in the state; one-twelfth are elected by the teachers in the state. The rest are nominated by the Governor of the state concerned.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp