Top SAD, BJP leaders bite dust, some Conressmen unlucky in Punjab

The results were a shock for heavy weights of SAD, including majority of the ministers, who failed to find favour from electors.

Published: 11th March 2017 06:58 PM  |   Last Updated: 11th March 2017 06:58 PM   |  A+A-


CHANDIGARH: Some cabinet ministers were among the several top leaders of ruling Shiromani Akali Dal and its ally BJP who lost assembly polls in Punjab where the Congress returned to power but not before a few of its senior leaders had a taste of defeat.

While the Congress got a thumping win, rookie Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) emerged a second, relegating the ruling SAD-BJP alliance to poor third at the hustings.

The Congress win was accompanied by a bitter experience as a few of its towering leaders who failed to emerge victorious.

Congress senior leader Sunil Kumar Jakhar, son of late Balram Jakhar, lost to political greenhorn Arun Narnag of BJP from his pocket borough seat of Abohar.

Another party veteran Mohinder Singh Kaypee failed to secure victory from the Adampur seat where he was was defeated by Pawan Kumar Tinu of SAD.

Businessman-turned-politician Kewal Dhillon of Congress lost his traditional Barnala seat to Gurmeet Singh Meet of AAP.

Singer-turned-politician Mohammad Sadiq of Congress lost from his bastion Jaitu to Baldev Singh of AAP.

Another strong Congressman Jagmohan Singh Kang bit the dust after losing his traditional Kharar seat to
journalist-turned-politician Kanwar Sandhu of AAP.

Congress Punjab Amarinder Singh failed to beat Akali heavyweight and five time Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal from Lambi, a pocket borough of the Badal family.

Amarinder, the chief ministerial face of the grand old party, had contest from Patiala as well as Lambi.

Former Chief Minister Rajinder Kaur Bhattal of Congress lost out on luck in her traditional seat Lehragagga to SAD's Parminder Singh Dhindsa.

Former Chief Minister Harcharan Singh Brar's daughter-in-law Karan Kaur of Congress lost to Kanwarjit Singh of SAD.

Congress firebrand leader Ajit Inder Singh Mofar lost to Dilraj Singh of SAD from Sardulgarh.

The results were a shock for heavy weights of SAD, including majority of the ministers, who failed to find favour from electors.

Cabinet minister Gulzar Singh Ranike of SAD bit the dust from his Attari seat to Tarsem Singh of Congress.

Other cabinet ministers who failed to win included Tota Singh (Dharamkot), Janmeja Singh Sekhon (Maur), Adesh Partap Singh Kairon, a relative of Badal from Patti seat, Sikander Singh Maluka (Rampura Phul), Surjit Singh Rakhra (Samana), Sohan Singh Thandal (Chhabewal).


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp