48 MLAs to debut in Punjab Assembly

The highest number of newbies will be from Congress and the youngest MLA in the state is 25-year-old Davinder Singh Ghubaya from Fazilka.

Published: 12th March 2017 06:39 PM  |   Last Updated: 12th March 2017 06:39 PM   |  A+A-

Image of Congress rally in Punjab used for representative purpose only.

Express News Service

CHANDIGARH: As many as 48 MLAs will be making their debut innings in the new Punjab Assembly. The Assembly has 117 MLAs in total.

The highest number of newbies will be from Congress (24). The youngest MLA in the state is 25-year-old Davinder Singh Ghubaya from Fazilka. Amit Vij from Pathankot, Dalvir Singh Goldy from Dhuri, Avtar Singh Henry Junior from Jalandhar (north) and Angad Singh from Nawanshahr are among the first-timers in Congress.

Former Moga DC Kuldeep Singh Vaid from Gill and former PCS officer Ajaib Singh Bhatti from the reserved constituency of Malout, who won on Congress ticket, will also be a part of Assembly for the first time.

It is followed by Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) as the rookie party has 20 MLAs as the main opposition party. Except Sukhpal Singh Khaira, who was elected on a Congress ticket in 2007, the rest are first-timers. Among the new entrants are Gurmeet Singh from Barnala, Rupinder Kaur Ruby from Bathinda (rural) and Primal Singh Dhaula from Bhadaur.

In the Shiromani Akali Dal, out of 15 legislators, four are first-timers. They are Dilraj Singh Bhundar from Sardulgarh,  Sukhwinder Kumar from Banga, Kanwarjit Singh from Muktsar, and Baldev Singh Khaira from Phillaur.

Among the three BJP MLAs, Arun Narang from Abohar is new. Most of these MLAs are aged between 25 and 40 years.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp