Yogi Adityanath sworn in as UP chief minister; Keshav Prasad Maurya and Dinesh Sharma as deputy CMs

Along with Adityanath, two Deputy Chief Ministers-- Dinesh Sharma and Keshav Prasad Maurya, and the Cabinet ministers also took the oath of office.

Published: 19th March 2017 02:11 PM  |   Last Updated: 19th March 2017 07:40 PM   |  A+A-

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath (File | PTI)

By Online Desk

LUCKNOW: The swearing in ceremony of Yogi Adityanath as the 21st Chief minister of Uttar Pradesh took place in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP president Amit Shah on Sunday.

The ceremony which was held at Kanshiram Smriti Upvan saw a number of VIPs, including chief ministers of 11 states, besides BJP parliamentary board members and other dignitaries.

Governor Ram Naik administered the oath of office. 

IN DETAIL: Uttar Pradesh: Yogi Adityanath, 22 cabinet ministers sworn in

READ MORE: Here's the complete list of UP CM Yogi Adityanath's cabinet

ALSO READ: First move: Mechanised abattoirs to close

Here are the updates: 

04:00 pm: 

Swearing-in ceremony of Yogi Adityanath as chief minister and ministers of Uttar Pradesh government concludes. PM Narendra Modi says he has immense confidence that the new team of Yogi Adityanath will leave no stone unturned in making UP 'uttam pradesh'. - Agencies

03:35 pm: 

Former cricketer Mohsin Raza sworn in as Minister of State. - ANI

03:30 pm: 

03:20 pm:

Yogi Adityanath's 46-member council of ministers to have five women representatives. Of five women ministers, one is cabinet, two MoS (Independent Charge) & 2 Minister of state.

03:10 pm:

Dharam Singh Saini & Anil Rajbhar take oath as MoS (Ind Charge). Swati Singh, first time BJP MLA from Sarojini Nagar takes oath as MoS (Ind Charge). In all nine Ministers of State with Independent Charge take oath of office and secrecy. 

03:00 pm:

Ministers of state with independent charge move to take oath of office and secrecy. Anupama Jaiswal, Suresh Rana, Upendra Tiwari, Mahendra Singh take oath as Minister of State (Independent Charge). Swatantra Deo Singh, Bhupendra Singh Chaudhary, take oath as MoS (Ind Charge).

02:55 pm: 

Mukut Bihari Verma, BJP MLA from Kaisarganj takes oath. Ashutosh Tandon, BJP MLA from Lko East takes oath as cabinet minister. Nand Gopal Gupta Nandi, BSP turncoat, BJP MLA, Alldbad south takes oath as cabinet minister.

02:50 pm: 

Former cricketer Chetan Chauhan, BJP MLA from Naugaon Sadat takes oath as cabinet minister. Shrikant Sharma, BJP MLA from Mathura takes oath. Rajendra Pratap Singh alias Moti Singh, BJP MLA from Jaunpur takes oath as cabinet minister. Siddharth Nath Singh, BJP MLA from Allahabad Paschim takes oath as cabinet minister. 

02:45 pm:

Jaipratap Singh takes oath as cabinet minister. SBSP chief and BJP ally Om Prakash Rajbhar, takes oath. BSP turncoat and BJP MLA from Lucknow Central takes oath as cabinet minister. Lakshmi Narain Chaudhary, BJP MLA from Chhata, Mathura, takes oath as cabinet minister. 

02:40 pm: 

BSP turncoat Dara Singh Chauhan from Madhuban, Mau takes oath of office as cabinet minister. Dharam PalSingh, BJP MLA Aonla, takes oath as cabinet minister. SP Singh Baghel, BJP MLA from Tundla, takes oath. Satya Dev Pachauri, MLA Govindnagar, takes oath as cabinet minister. Ramapati Shastri, BJP MLA from Mankapur takes oath as cabinet minister.

READ MORE: After Yogi's elevation, RSS says it has no say in selection

02:35 pm: 

BSP turncoat, BJP MLA from Padrauna Swami Prasad Maurya takes oath as cabinet minister. Satish Mahana, BJP MLA from Mahrajpur, Kanpur takes oath of office as cabinet minister. Rajesh Agarwal, BJP MLA from Bareilly Cantt takes oath. Rita Bahuguna Joshi, BJP MLA from Lucknow Cantt takes oath of office as cabinet minister. 

02:30 pm: 

Nine ministers with independent charge inducted in the UP cabinet. - TV reports

02:27 pm: 

Swami Prasad Maurya, ex-BSP. Opposition leader in the last assembly, one of the cabinet members. (READ MORE: No issues with Yogi Adityanath being UP’s CM, insists Maurya)

02:25 pm:

Cabinet ministers in the Uttar Pradesh government sowrn-in at a mass ceremony. Surya Pratap Shahi, Suresh Khanna take oath of office as cabinet minister.

02:20 pm: 

Dinesh Sharma takes oath as deputy chief minister. 

READ HERE: Dinesh Sharma's slow and steady rise in BJP

02:17 pm:

Keshav Prasad Maurya takes the oath of office as the deputy chief minister of Uttar Pradesh.

READ HERE: Keshav Prasad Maurya, BJP's OBC face rewarded for Uttar Pradesh win

02:15 pm:

Adityanath Yogi takes oath as UP chief minister in a mega ceremony. New chief minister being congratulated by senior party leaders including LK Advani after being adminietered oath by Governor Ram Naik. (READ MORE)

ALSO READ: What does Yogi Adityanath stand for? Here are five statements of his that reflect who he is

02:10 pm: 

CMs of different states, Senior central ministers, BJP leaders LK Advani, MM Joshi reach venue. BJP national president Amit Shah reaches venue. Maharashtra CM Fadnavis, Goa CM Parrikar arrive at Lucknow's Smriti Upvan to attend swearing in ceremony of UP CM designate Yogi Adityanath. (ANI)

02:05 pm:

PM Narendra Modi lands at Lucknow airport to attend the swearing-in ceremony at Smriti Upvan.

02:00 pm:  

Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav also reaches venue to attend swearing -in ceremony.

01:55 pm:

1:50 pm: 

Outgoing CM Akhilesh Yadav expected to attend swearing-in ceremony of Yogi, 44-ministers cabinet.

(With inputs from agencies)



Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp