Uttar Pradesh: Bypoll to Kairana Lok Sabha seat on May 28

The bypolls will be held for Bhandara-Gondiya and Palghar in Maharashtra, Kairana, and Nagaland Lok Sabha seats.

Published: 27th April 2018 01:09 AM  |   Last Updated: 27th April 2018 01:14 AM   |  A+A-

EVM, Voting

Image used for representational purpose.


NEW DELHI: The Election Commission today announced that bypolls to four Lok Sabha seats, including Uttar Pradesh's Kairana, will take place on May 28.

The bypolls will be held for Bhandara-Gondiya and Palghar in Maharashtra, Kairana, and Nagaland Lok Sabha seats.

Nana Patole of the BJP had resigned from the Bhandara-Gondiya seat last year and joined the Congress.

The Palghar seat fell vacant after the demise of BJP MP Chintaman Wangaya.

The bypoll to the Kairana seat was necessitated after BJP veteran Hukum Singh passed away in February.

The Nagaland seat fell vacant when Neiphiu Rio resigned as a Lok Sabha member to become the chief minister of the state.

The notification would be issued on May 3, while the counting would take place on May 31, the Election Commission said.

Bypolls to the Noorpur Assembly seat in Uttar Pradesh and Tharali assembly segment in Uttarakhand would also take place on May 28.

The Noorpur Assembly seat fell vacant when sitting BJP MLA Lokendra Singh Chauhan died in a road accident, while bypoll to the reserved seat of Tharali has been necessitated after the death of sitting MLA Magan Lal Shah in February this year.

Uttar Pradesh Chief Electoral Officer L Venkateshwar Lu will visit Saharanpur and Shamli districts tomorrow to take stock of poll preparations.

Kairana parliamentary constituency comprises five assembly segments, three in Shamli and two in Saharanpur district.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp