NDA candidate Harivansh Singh elected Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman

A journalist-politician Harivansh is the first person to become deputy chairman during his first term in the house.

Published: 09th August 2018 12:55 PM  |   Last Updated: 09th August 2018 11:18 PM   |  A+A-


NDA nominee and JD(U) MPHarivansh Narayan Singh has been elected as the new Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman on 9 August 2018. (Photo | Shekhar Yadav/EPS)

Express News Service

NEW DELHI: The Rajya Sabha deputy chairman's election, which was seen as a test of Opposition unity ahead of the 2019 general election, turned out to be a walkover for NDA's Harivansh, who was elected with a margin of 20 votes over the joint Opposition candidate, BK Hariprasad, as regional parties either voted for the NDA or did not vote, and even abstained.

Journalist-turned-politician Harivansh is the first person to become deputy chairman during his first term in the House. He was elected to the Rajya Sabha on a Janata Dal (United) ticket in 2014. He bagged 125 votes while Hariprasad got 105 votes. While two MPs of the YSR Congress Party abstained, 12 MPs from various parties were absent during the vote.

The NDA candidate winning the election despite non-NDA parties having more numbers in the Upper House shows meticulous planning by the BJP, both in choosing a candidate from the JD (U), an important ally in Bihar, and making the first move to reach out to key regional players Biju Janata Dal (BJD), which has nine MPs, and Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), which has six MPs, and getting the support of its critical ally Shiv Sena, which has three MPs.

ALSO READ: Know all about new RS deputy chairman Harivansh Narayan Singh

Prime Minister Narendra Modi spoke to the BJD chief twice, once before the election for the post was announced, seeking support. He also came to the House after the election and congratulated Harivansh.

Moreover, JD (U) chief Nitish Kumar made personal efforts to reach out to the BJD and TRS. The TRS has shown some inclination towards Trinamool Congress (TMC) chief Mamata Banerjee's proposed federal front, as party chief K C Rao met her.

But TMC leader Derek O'Brien ruled out lack of Opposition unity. "These are warm-up matches for the World Cup. The voters are different there (Lok Sabha)," said Brien.

The Opposition, which has been giving a tough time to the government in getting some key legislation passed in the Upper House due to its higher numbers, failed to convince even other like-minded partners, including the Aam Aadmi Party, to come on board.

The Opposition has been working to stitch together an alliance to take on the BJP government, but sources said that "poor planning" botched up everything and they needed to plan well in advance if they wanted to fight together against the BJP in 2019.

The BJP had issued a whip to all its members to be present during the vote, and even ailing Leader of the House Arun Jaitley turned up while two MPs each from the Congress, TMC, DMK and one from SP was absent. The absentee included Congress's T Subbarami Reddy and Biplab Thakur, TMC's Manas Bhunia and K D Singh and DMK's Kanimozhi, RS Bharathi and the SP's Jaya Bachchan.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp