Congress, NCP MLAs resign over Maratha reservation row

Congressman Bharat Bhalke and NCP's Dattatray Vithoba Bharne submitted their resignations to the Vidhan Sabha speaker on Thursday night.

Published: 27th July 2018 08:42 AM  |   Last Updated: 28th July 2018 12:56 AM   |  A+A-

The Maratha Kranti Morcha protestors in Mumbai (File photo | PTI)


MUMBAI: Hours after Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis chaired a meeting of ministers over the Maratha reservation row, two MLAs have resigned.

Bharat Bhalke, Congress MLA from Pandharpur constituency (Solapur) and Dattatray Vithoba Bharne, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) MLA from Indapur constituency (Pune), submitted their resignations to the Vidhan Sabha speaker on Thursday night.

Prior to that, Shiv Sena MLA from Kannad (Aurangabad) constituency, Harshvardhan Jadhav, offered his resignation amid Maratha community's protest across the state demanding reservation in government jobs and education.

In a show of solidarity with the Maratha Reservation agitation, the Pune Bar association on Thursday said that people arrested in connection with the protests will not be charged by advocates of the association for the cases filed against them.

The quota for Marathas has been a highly contentious issue, with the community comprising of around 30 per cent of the state's population.

In 2017, a huge rally was held by the Maratha Kranti Morcha over the issue in Mumbai.

Besides reservation for the Maratha community, loan waiver, Kopardi rape and unemployment are some of the other issues against which the community is protesting.

On a related note, a Maratha community member, Jagannath Sonavne, who attempted suicide during the protest here, died on Wednesday.

Sonavne, who consumed poison, was undergoing treatment at a hospital.

Earlier on Monday, another Maratha protestor, Kakasaheb Shinde, jumped to death in the Godavari River in Aurangabad district. 


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp