Congress extends support to BSP candidate for Rajya Sabha poll

Legislature Party leader Lallu Singh adding that the decision to that effect was taken at a high-level meeting of senior party leaders.

Published: 10th March 2018 06:39 PM  |   Last Updated: 10th March 2018 07:50 PM   |  A+A-

BSP Chief Mayawati. | File PTI

Express News Service

LUCKNOW: In a big relief to Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) which has been grappling to muster support for its lone Rajya Sabha candidate even after entering a barter deal of mutual support with SP, the Congress has decided to back Bhimrao Ambedkar of blue brigade on Saturday.

“We have decided to support BSP candidate in upcoming RS polls as we do not want the BJP to win an extra seat. Since our main agenda is to defeat the communal forces, our MLAs  (7) will vote in favour of BSP candidate,” Congress

Legislature Party leader Lallu Singh adding that the decision to that effect was taken at a high-level meeting of senior party leaders.

Interestingly, while clinching the ‘give and take’ deal with Samajwadi Party, BSP chief Mayawati had offered a quid pro quo to the Congress as well. She had promised the support of her MLAs to Congress candidate in Madhya Pradesh if Congress would back her party’s candidate with their seven votes in UP. Now with Congress support, the BSP candidate will be able to sail through. As per the latest arithmetic of votes, Samajwadi Party has total 47 MLAs in UP Assembly of 403. After ensuring entry of its candidate Jaya Bachchan to the upper house, SP will be left with 10 spare votes. BSP has 19 MLAs and Congress seven. Added to BSP’s tally of 19, 17 votes of SP and Congress combined will take the BSP number to 36 just one short of 37 votes required to win an RS seat. The shortfall of one vote may be covered up by the RLD which has a lone MLA in Assembly.

While six SP MPs will retire on April 2, one each from BJP, Congress and BSP will also retire on the same date from UP’s quota. Elections to 10 Rajya Sabha seats of UP, including one vacated by BSP chief Mayawati, will be held on March 23. In all, polling will be held for 58 RS seats in the country. The last date for filing nominations is March 12 and March 15 is the last date for withdrawal of papers.

In the 245-member Upper House of Parliament, Uttar Pradesh has 31 seats, being the most populous state.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp