Meghalaya's Conrad Sangma government wins easy trust vote

He said it was for the first time in the history of the state that files during the swearing-in of the new government were all saffron.

Published: 12th March 2018 05:59 PM  |   Last Updated: 12th March 2018 05:59 PM   |  A+A-

Chief of Meghalaya's National People's Party Conrad Sangma (Express File Photo)


SHILLONG: The Conrad K Sangma government won a facile trust vote in the Meghalaya Assembly today.

In all, 35 votes were cast in favour of the confidence motion and 20 against.

One vote was declared invalid, while an MLA abstained.

The pro-tem speaker did not vote.

Leader of Opposition Mukul Sangma had contested from two seats and won both.

Sangma-led MDA government, which includes the BJP and regional parties, was sworn in on March 6.

Six non-Congress parties and an independent MLA constitute the Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) government.

Initiating the debate on the motion of confidence, former chief minister and Leader of Opposition Mukul Sangma slammed the National People's Party of Conrad Sangma for tying up with the BJP.

He also wanted to know which party led the ruling coalition.

"It will be appropriate for this house to know which party is leading the government. Is it by the NPP or is it led by BJP and its conglomerates?" he asked.

He said it was for the first time in the history of the state that files during the swearing-in of the new government were all saffron.

Responding to Mukul Sangma's barb, the chief minister said, " It is clear that the MDA government is headed by the NPP. There is no doubt about it."

All the political parties including the UDP, HSPDP, PDF and BJP in their letters of support submitted to the governor had clearly expressed support to the government led by Conrad K Sangma.

The NPP stitched a non-Congress government by bringing almost regional parties - NPP (19), United Democratic Party (6), People Democratic Front (4), Hill State People Democratic Party (2), Bharatiya Janata Party (2) and Nationalist Congress Party (1) besides 2 Independents.

Meghalaya has a 60-member Assembly, but elections were held for 59 seats due to the killing of a candidate.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp