Rajya Sabha polls: Nomnations of independent rejected; contest may still take place

However, a contest will still take place if three of the 13 candidates left in the fray do not withdraw their papers on March 15.

Published: 13th March 2018 08:13 PM  |   Last Updated: 13th March 2018 08:13 PM   |  A+A-


LUCKNOW: The nomination of the lone independent candidate for the Rajya Sabha polls in Uttar Pradesh was today rejected during scrutiny, but a contest will still take place if three of the 13 candidates left in the fray do not withdraw their papers on March 15.

At the end of scrutiny, there were 13 candidates for 10 seats, principal secretary in the UP Vidhan Sabha Pradeep Kumar Dubey told PTI.

He said the nomination Mahesh Chandra Sharma was rejected, he said.

March 15 is the last date for withdrawal of nominations and polling, if needed, will be held on March 23.

The BJP candidates in the fray are Union Finance Minister Jaitley, Ashok Bajpai, Vijay Pal Singh Tomar, Sakal Deep Rajbhar, Kanta Kardam, Anil Jain, Harnath Singh Yadav, Anil Kumar Agarwal, Salil Bishnoi, Vidyasagar Sonkar and party's national spokesman GVL Narasimha Rao.

The main opposition SP has fielded Jaya Bachchan, while the BSP has given ticket to dalit leader Bhimrao Ambedkar.

A candidate needs 37 first preference votes to emerge victorious.

Arithmetically, the BJP can easily win eight out of the 10 seats for which election will take place.

The BJP and its allies have 324 seats, after the party's Noorpur MLA died recently in a road accident, in the 403-member Assembly.

It will still be left with 28 surplus first preference votes after ensuring victory of eight of its candidates.

Naresh Agarwal's entry into the BJP yesterday gave an interesting twist to the Rajya Sabha battle in Uttar Pradesh, as the former Samajwadi Party heavyweight declared that his MLA son will vote for the saffron party, a move that may upset the BSP candidate's applecart.

The BSP, with 19 MLAs in the 403-member Assembly, is already short of 18 first preference votes, and with Agarwal's son Nitin likely to vote for the BJP, the task will be all the more difficult for Mayawati's candidate.

The Samajwadi Party has 47 MLAs in the House, and can transfer 10 votes to the BSP, which has declared its support to the SP candidates in the bypolls for Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha seats vacated by Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and his deputy Keshav Prasad Maurya.

The seven votes of the Congress and one of RLD can help the BSP candidate reach the magic figure of 37 votes.

In that scenario, the vote of Nitin Agarwal, the son of Naresh Agarwal, will be crucial.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp