Uttar Pradesh IAS officers' rejig: Gorakhpur DM Rajiv Rautela, who barred media from entering counting centre, promoted by Yogi government

Five commissioners, Gorakhpur District Magistrate (DM) Rajiv Rautela, including DM of 17 districts were changed.

Published: 17th March 2018 02:19 PM  |   Last Updated: 18th March 2018 09:52 AM   |  A+A-

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath (File | PTI)


LUCKNOW: The Uttar Pradesh government has transferred 37 IAS officials, including 16 District Magistrates, an official said on Saturday.

Rajiv Rautela, the District Magistrate of Gorakhpur, who courted controversy on Wednesday for barring the media from accessing details at the Lok Sabha bypoll counting centre, has been shifted and prompted as Divisional Commissioner of Devipatan.

The bureaucratic rejig was effected late on Friday. 

The Samajwadi Party has wrested Gorakhpur, Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath's home constituency, from the BJP after several decades.

Anoop Chandra Pandey, the industrial and infrastructure development commissioner (IIDC) credited with the success of the 'UP Investors Summit' held in February has been rewarded with additional charge of the NRI Department, besides the additional charge of Greater Noida. 

Alok Sinha has been made the new principal secretary (Commercial Tax), Nitin Ramesh has been made the new principal secretary (Housing). He replaced Mukul Singhal who has been sent to the Silk Department.

Senior bureaucrat Rajeev Kapoor who was in waiting ever since his return from a central deputation has been made the chairman of PICUP; Alok Tandon has been given additional charge of Noida as its chairman.

Deepak Agarwal has been made the new divisional commissioner of Varanasi while Chandra Prakash Tripathi has been made the new commissioner of Saharanpur.

Ravindra Naik, has been made the director industries, while Saumya Agarwal has been given the charge of vice-chairperson of Kanpur Development Authority (KDA). 

Chandra Bhushan Singh has been given charge as new District Magistrate of Aligarh, S.V. Ranga Rao is the new commissioner of Azamgarh while Shivakant Dwivedi has been made the new District Magistrate of Azamgarh.

Rajendra Prasad is the new District Magistrate of Bhadohi, Krishna Karunesh (Balrampur), Pramod Kumar Upadhyaya (Hapur), Hemant Kumar (Amroha), Navneet Chahal (Chandauli), Rama Shankar Maurya (Hathras) and Amit Singh is the new District Magistrate of Sonebhadra.

Pranjal Yadav, who was special secretary in Udyog Bandhu and played an important role in the Investors Summit has surprisingly been shunted out and made the new director (Training). 

Surendra Vikram has been removed and replaced by Bhawani Singh as District Magistrate of Ballia. Sarika Mohan has been removed and replaced by Sheetal Verma as District Magistrate of Sitapur. 

Akhilesh Kumar Mishra has been made the new District Magistrate of Pilibhit. 

District Magistrate of Bareilly Raghvendra Singh, who had created a storm after his comments on the social media on the growing communal temper in the state has also been removed. 

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp