PM Narendra Modi's constituency Varanasi amongst new RAF bases

The temple town will be the RAF’s fourth base in Uttar Pradesh - the three others being in Meerut, Allahabad and Aligarh. 

Published: 07th October 2018 04:35 PM  |   Last Updated: 08th October 2018 07:17 AM   |  A+A-

Narendra Modi

Prime Minister Narendra Modi takes a ride on the first solar powered e-boat in Varanasi. (Photo| PTI)

By Express News Service

NEW DELHI: The Centre has decided to make Varanasi, the parliamentary constituency of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, a new base for the Rapid Action Force (RAF), the specialised anti-riot and crowd control paramilitary unit of the country. The total number of RAF battalions will now go up to 15. Modi was elected as a Member of Parliament from the Varanasi Lok Sabha constituency in the 2014 general elections. The temple town will be the RAF’s fourth base in Uttar Pradesh - the three others being in Meerut, Allahabad and Aligarh.

In January, a total of five battalions of the RAF were sanctioned by the central government. 
A senior government functionary said besides Varanasi, the four other new battalions will be based in Jaipur (Rajasthan), Mangalore (Karnataka), Hajipur (Bihar) and Nuh (Haryana). The official added that the process for acquiring land for the five new bases is underway and the five battalions, which are already operational, will start functioning from their permanent locations soon.

A single RAF battalion has a strength of just over 1,000 personnel and it is equipped with gadgets and non-lethal weapons like pump action guns, tear smoke grenade launchers and others to enforce security and law and order in case of protests or riot-like situations.    The specialised blue uniform donning force is a part of the Central Reserve Police Force, the country’s largest paramilitary force with over 3 lakh personnel. It was raised and made fully operational in October 1992. 

In order to cut down response time and rush the teams in the shortest possible time to counter an exigency situation, the RAF battalions are based in various parts of the country. Hyderabad, Ahmedabad, Allahabad, Mumbai, Delhi, Aligarh, Coimbatore, Jamshedpur, Bhopal and Meerut are some of the cities where the RAF battalions are based.

RAF: A Force to contend with 

  • RAF is commanded by an Inspector-General of Police (IGP), functioning from Delhi. 
  • The first five battalions of RAF were raised by October 1992 and an additional 5 battalions were added in April 1994.  


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp