Shiv Sena appoints Sanjay Raut as leader of MPs for both Houses of Parliament

The Sena has 18 MPs in the Lok Sabha and three in the Rajya Sabha.

Published: 18th September 2018 03:37 PM  |   Last Updated: 18th September 2018 03:37 PM   |  A+A-

Senior Shiv Sena leader Sanjay Raut. (File | PTI)


MUMBAI: Senior Shiv Sena leader Sanjay Raut has been appointed as the head of party MPs in the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, party sources said Tuesday.

The Sena has 18 MPs in the Lok Sabha and three in the Rajya Sabha. Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray has written to Speaker Sumitra Mahajan, notifying her about Raut's appointment, a party source told PTI.

Currently, Anandrao Adsul is Sena's party group leader in the Lower House, while Raut represents the party as group leader in the Rajya Sabha.

READ| Shiv Sena leader Sanjay Raut questions whether former PM Atal Bihari Vajpayee died on August 16

Thackeray's decision comes in the wake of Sena chief whip in the Lok Sabha, Chandrakant Khaire, issuing a whip to party MPs to vote for the government against the Opposition's no-trust motion in July this year.

Thackeray had later dismissed the whip and clarified that the party's decision was to abstain from voting, which the MPs had followed.

The development establishes Thackeray confidante Raut's command over all Sena MPs and makes Adsul and Khaire work under his overall leadership in Parliament.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp