Lok Sabha elections 2019: BJP relies on ‘star power’ yet again, fields Ravi Kishan from Gorakhpur

The party has replaced him with Praveen Nishad, the Samajwadi Party MP from Gorakhpur who had recently joined the BJP.

Published: 15th April 2019 05:40 PM  |   Last Updated: 15th April 2019 10:55 PM   |  A+A-

Actor Ravi Kishan joins BJP in presence of party president Amit Shah.

Actor Ravi Kishan joins BJP in presence of party president Amit Shah. (Photo | ANI Twitter)

Express News Service

LUCKNOW: Ending a prolonged wait and putting all the speculations to rest, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) chose Bhojpuri film actor Ravi Kishan to fight the prestigious battle of Gorakhpur – the Yogi fort—in the ensuing polls. The actor-turned-politician has crossed over to the BJP from Congress during 2017 UP Assembly elections.

Yogi Aditynath has been five-time (since 1998) MP from Gorakhpur and he vacated the seat after taking over as UP CM in 2017. Gorakhpur by-poll in March 2018 served a blow to the ruling BJP when joint opposition candidate Praveen Nishad wrested the seat from its clutches with a margin of 45,000 votes in March 2018.

Just a year later, the opposition camp failed to keep its flock intact and Praveen Nishad of NISHAD (Nirbal Indian Shoshit Hamara Aam Dal) snapped off ties with SP-BSP-RLD alliance and joined the NDA recently in Delhi.

The party rewarded Praveen Nishad by fielding him from Sant Kabir Nagar replacing sitting party MP Sharad Tripathi who had hit the headlines for thrashing one of his party MLAs with a shoe at a district level meeting. The party made him pay for his indiscipline with his seat.

As per the highly-placed sources, Yogi Adityanath blocked Sharad Tripathi's ticket as a punitive action. However, the party has given a ticket to his father and BJP ex-state chief Ramapati Ram Tripathi from Deoria.

In 2014, veteran BJP lead Kalraj Mishra had won from Deoria beating his nearest rival   Abu Salem of BSP by a margin of over 2.65 lakh. This time Kalraj Mishra had decided against contesting polls.

The party has given a ticket to Mukut Bihari Verma, a serving minister in Yogi cabinet, from Ambedkarnagar. Party has changed Harivansh Singh, the sitting Apna Dal MP from Pratapgarh. He has been replaced by Apna Dal MLA Sangam Lal Gupta.

In Jaunpur, party has reposed faith in sitting MP KP Singh, Bhadohi MP Virendra Singh Mast has been sent to Ballia. In Bhadohi, the party has given ticket to Ramesh Bind.

BJP has now announced candidates on all 79 seats except Ghosi. The party had been trying to convince Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party (SBSP) chief OP Rajbhar to contest from here but he refused.

In fact, Rajbhar had been pitching for contesting the election on his party symbol whereas the BJP wanted him to contest on Lotus. As per the highly placed sources, Rajbhar has made up his mind to go it alone in this election by fielding party candidates on 25 seats across the state.

He is even believed to be planning gto leave Yogi cabinet by offering his resignation.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp