Swatantra Dev Singh resigns as UP Minister following BJP's one-man-one-post rule

Swatantra Dev Singh was appointed state BJP President last month.

Published: 19th August 2019 04:27 PM  |   Last Updated: 19th August 2019 04:27 PM   |  A+A-

Swatantra Dev Singh. (Photo| Twitter)


LUCKNOW: Uttar Pradesh BJP President Swatantra Dev Singh, on Monday, resigned from the Yogi Adityanath Cabinet. He resigned in keeping with the party's rule of one-man-one-post.

Singh was appointed state BJP President last month and he was also Transport minister in the Yogi Adityanath government.

With Singh's resignation, Yogi Adityanath's Cabinet now has 42 ministers, including 21 Cabinet ministers, eight ministers of state (independent charge) and 13 ministers of state. There are 18 vacancies in the ministry now.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp