Campaigning for third phase of Jharkhand polls ends

On the last day of campaigning, leaders of all political parties made a last ditch efforts to woo the voters.

Published: 10th December 2019 06:04 PM  |   Last Updated: 10th December 2019 06:04 PM   |  A+A-

Jharkhand Chief Minister and BJP candidate Raghubar Das campaigns at Hazaribagh district on Sunday | Pti


RANCHI: Campaigning for the third phase of Jharkhand assembly polls drew to a close on Tuesday evening. Seventeen Assembly seats spread over eight districts will go to polls on December 12.

In the third phase, the key candidates, whose fate will be sealed in the EVMs on Thursday, are three Ministers - C.P. Singh, Ramchandra Shahi and Neera Yadav; Former Chief Minister Babulal Marandi and former Deputy Chief Minister and All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) president Sudesh Mahto.

Of the 17 seats, BJP, JMM and Congress had won 10, three and two respectively in 2014 assembly elections. There are a total of 309 candidates including 32 women in the fray for 17 seats.

On the last day of campaigning, leaders of all political parties made a last-ditch efforts to woo the voters.

The seats where elections will be held in this phase include Koderma, Barkatha, Gomia, Dhanwar, Ramgarh, Barkagaon, Ranchi, Hatia, Silli, Hazaribagh, Mandu, Barhi, Berma, Ichagarh, Khijri, Simaria and Kanke.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp