Jharkhand Assembly polls phase four: Voting ends in 5 of 15 seats

Voting ended at 3 p.m. on five seats - Bagodar, Jamua, Giridih, Dumri and Tundi, while on rest of the 10 seats, it will end at 5 p.m.

Published: 16th December 2019 05:00 PM  |   Last Updated: 16th December 2019 05:01 PM   |  A+A-


For representational purposes (Photo | EPS)


RANCHI: Voting ended in five of the 15 assembly seats that went to the polls in the fourth phase in Jharkhand on Monday.

According to the Election Commission, more than 53.37 per cent polling have been been reported till 3 p.m.

Voting ended at 3 p.m. on five seats - Bagodar, Jamua, Giridih, Dumri and Tundi, while on rest of the 10 seats, it will end at 5 p.m.

In Dhanbad, an elderly woman was brought on a cot to cast her vote.

Despite cold weather condition and Maoist threat, voters turned out in large numbers to exercise their franchise. Jharkahnd had witnessed rain on Sunday and the weather is cloudy in most part of the state on Monday.

There are a total of 221 candidates including 23 women in the fray in this phase. The maximum, 25 candidates, are contesting from the Bokaro seat while the minimum, eight candidates, are trying their luck from the Nirsa seat.

Out of 15 seats, three -- Deoghar, Jamua and Chandankiyari -- are reserved for Scheduled Castes while remaining 12 are general category seats.

On nine seats, the fight is between the BJP on the one hand and the Congress, the JMM and the RJD alliance on the other. Six seats are witnessing a triangular contest.

Prominent candidates who are in the fray included Ministers Raj Paliwar and Amar Kumar Bauri; Ragini Singh, Raj Kishore Mahto and Dhullu Mahto.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp