Citizenship Amendment Bill: Eight panel members file dissent notes

The dissenting MPs said the bill’s provisions went against the spirit of the Assam Accord.

Published: 08th January 2019 06:49 AM  |   Last Updated: 08th January 2019 06:49 AM   |  A+A-

By Express News Service

NEW DELHI: Even as the Joint Parliamentary Committee on the Citizenship Amendment Bill — in a majority vote — gave a go-ahead to the controversial Bill, as many as eight MPs in the 30-member Committee appended their notes of dissent to the report.

The dissenting MPs said the bill’s provisions went against the spirit of the Assam Accord. They include Bhartruhari Mahtab (BJD), Javed Ali Khan (SP), Saugata Roy and Derek O’Brien (TMC), Mohammad Salim (CPI-M), and Bhubaneswar Kalita, Pradip Bhattacharya, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury and Sushmita Dev (Congress).

In his dissent report, Mahtab said, during the visit of the Committee to Assam, a large number of delegates apprised the Committee of the serious discontent among the people.The TMC members said they opposed the bill as it brings out ethnic divisions and noted that the AGP had threatened to pull out of the Assam government.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp