Six parties form alliance in Punjab

Nawan Punjab Party (Patiala), CPI (Ferozepur) and RMPI (Gurdaspur) will each fight from one seat.

Published: 12th March 2019 09:24 AM  |   Last Updated: 12th March 2019 09:24 AM   |  A+A-

Express News Service

CHANDIGARH: Six political parties in Punjab have decided to contest the upcoming Lok Sabha elections under the banner of Punjab Democratic Alliance, after reaching consensus on 12 Lok Sabha seats.The alliance comprises Punjab Ekta Party, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Lok Insaaf Party, Suspended AAP MP Dr Dharamvir Gandhi’s newly-formed Nawan Punjab Party, the CPI and RMPI headed by Mangat Ram Pasla.

The BSP will contest three seats (Anandpur Sahib, Jalandhar and Hoshiarpur), Punjab Ekta Party will field candidates on another three (Bathinda, Faridkot and Khadur Sahib), and Lok Insaaf Party will contest from Ludhiana, Amritsar and Fatehgarh Sahib.

Nawan Punjab Party (Patiala), CPI (Ferozepur) and RMPI (Gurdaspur) will each fight from one seat. Sukhpal Singh Khaira, president of Punjab Ekta Party, said the alliance had been forged to liberate Punjab from the clutches of “corrupt” Congress and the SAD-BJP alliance.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp