Denied ticket, BJP ministers, MLAs in Arunachal embrace NPP

The NPP heads Meghalaya’s ruling coalition and is also a constituent of the coalition governments in Manipur and Nagaland.

Published: 19th March 2019 11:29 PM  |   Last Updated: 19th March 2019 11:29 PM   |  A+A-

Voting, Vote, Polls

Image used for representational purpose only

Express News Service

GUWAHATI: The National People’s Party (NPP) received a shot in the arms on Tuesday when 20 BJP leaders, including two Ministers and six MLAs, of Arunachal Pradesh joined the regional party.

The lawmakers to have deserted the BJP were the state’s Home Minister Kumar Waii, Tourism Minister Jarkar Gamlin and MLAs Tapuk Taku, Pani Taram, Kardo Nyickyor, Paknga Bage, Thangwang Wangham and Wanglin Lowangdong. All of them were denied ticket by the BJP for upcoming Arunachal elections which will be held simultaneously with Lok Sabha polls.

Earlier, two other BJP MLAs Mutchu Mithi and Nikh Kamin had defected to the NPP. On Tuesday, others who embraced the party were former Minister Tsering Gyurme, BJP state general secretary Jarpum Gamlin (he resigned from the party on Monday) and several ticket aspirants. Jarkar and Jarpum are the brothers of former Chief Minister the late Jarbom Gamlin. Jarpum was an aspiring candidate of the BJP from Liromoba seat.

“Eight BJP lawmakers, which include two Ministers and six MLAs, have joined the NPP. There were also some very senior leaders who have joined the party. We are very confident about doing well in the elections,” Jarpum told this newspaper. 

The NPP heads Meghalaya’s ruling coalition and is also a constituent of the coalition governments in Manipur and Nagaland.

Meanwhile, the BJP suffered a setback in Tripura as the party’s state vice president Subal Bhowmik defected to the Congress. He is likely to contest the Lok Sabha elections from West Tripura seat. Former Minister Prakash Das and Debashis Sen, who is a CPI-M municipal councillor, also followed in the footsteps of Bhowmik.

On Monday night, Bhowmik had a meeting with Pradesh Congress chief Pradyot Kishore Manikya who reportedly agreed to nominate the former in the West Tripura seat.

“Yes, I’ve joined the Congress. Congress president Rahul Gandhi Ji will announce my candidature from his rally at Khumulwng tomorrow (Wednesday),” Bhowmik said.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp