Eight BJP deserters in NPP list for Arunachal Assembly poll 

Apart from heading Meghalaya’s ruling coalition, it is a constituent in the coalition governments of Nagaland and Manipur. 

Published: 21st March 2019 04:13 AM  |   Last Updated: 21st March 2019 09:28 AM   |  A+A-

BJP flags

For representational purposes (File | EPS)

Express News Service

GUWAHATI: The National People’s Party (NPP), a key BJP ally in the Northeast, released its first list of 29 candidates on Wednesday for Assembly elections in Arunachal Pradesh, which will be held simultaneously with the first phase of Lok Sabha polls on April 11.

The 29 candidates include two ministers and six MLAs of the ruling BJP in the state. They are among the two dozen disgruntled leaders who have deserted the saffron party over the past few days after being denied tickets.

The BJP had denied tickets to state general secretary Jarpum Gamlin, home minister Kumar Waii, tourism minister Jarkar Gamlin, and several other sitting legislators.

The NPP, led by Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad Sangma, received a shot in the arm on Wednesday when 20 BJP leaders, including the eight lawmakers, joined the party. NPP state spokesman Mutchu Mithi said the party was looking to field at least 40 candidates for the 60-member  state Assembly.

“After the BJP, probably we are fighting the maximum number of seats. Not the Congress, we have become the alternative,” Mithi claimed, adding, “When we are contesting so many seats, it is obvious that we have a bigger chance of forming the government on our own or otherwise.”

He claimed that the people of Arunachal would embrace the NPP and this was evident from “so many people joining our party”.

The NPP is a new entrant in Arunachal. The party has already made inroads into some other states in the Northeast. Apart from heading Meghalaya’s ruling coalition, it is a constituent in the coalition governments of Nagaland and Manipur. 

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp