29 trouble-makers arrested in Bihar during Phase V of  LS polls

Bihar CEO HR Shrinivas said that the constituencies of Hajipur, Muzaffarpur, Saran, Madhubani and Sitamarhi saw about 57.86 of polling percentage in a peaceful way.

Published: 06th May 2019 08:37 PM  |   Last Updated: 06th May 2019 08:37 PM   |  A+A-


Image used for representational purpose only.

Express News Service

PATNA: The Bihar police arrested 29 trouble-makers from across all five Lok Sabha constituencies that went for polling during the fifth phase of polling on May 6, including one, who had damaged an EVM in Saran district.

"The elections of fifth round of polling, with about 57.86 of polling percentage, passed off , by and large , in record peaceful way in Hajipur, Muzaffarpur, Saran, Madhubani and Sitamarhi", said chief electoral officer (CEO) of Bihar HR Shrinivas at a post-poll media interface, adding state registered about 2.16 per cent rise in overall polling percentage compared to the 55.69 per cent  of 2014 Lok Sabha elections of these five districts.


He said around Rs 1.39 crore unaccounted cash was seized from across these five constituencies after March 10 to May 5. Addl. DGP (HQ) Kundan Krishan further said that 29 trouble-makers were arrested including 12 from Saran, 5 from Vaishali and 8 from Muzaffarpur. "One person named Sudarshan Hazara was arrested for damaging an EVM", Kundan said.

ALSO READ| 20 polling personnel along with cops and micro-observer suspended in Bihar's Lakhisarai

The prominent candidates among others were Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Saran, Pashupati Paras, Hajipur, Sunil Kumar Pintu, Sitamarhi and Ajoy Nishad from Muzaffarpur, all NDA candidates while Chandrika Rai (Saran), Shiv Chandra Ram (Hajipur) and Badarinath Purbey (Sitamarhi)-all Mahagathbandhan candidates.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp