MPs from other states not taking interest in Delhi's pollution crisis: Hema Malini

The air quality in the national capital had reached severe and hazardous levels before a slight improvement due to wind conditions.

Published: 20th November 2019 02:48 PM  |   Last Updated: 20th November 2019 02:48 PM   |  A+A-

Lok Sabha MP Hema Malini

Actress and Lok Sabha MP Hema Malini (File Photo | PTI)


NEW DELHI: BJP lawmaker Hema Malini on Wednesday said that the MPs from other states are hardly taking any interest in the issue of rising pollution in New Delhi as the matter does not concern them.

"Pollution is the worst thing happening in Delhi and we have to rectify it. There are various reasons given to me regarding the rising pollution level of the city," Malini told media persons here.

Being asked about the issue of attendance of MPs in the Parliament during debates on pollution in Delhi, she said, "The reason is that those who are connected to Delhi are participating and those belonging to other states are not taking much interest as there is no such problem in their respective states. We cannot leave it like that. Everyone should be serious about rectifying things."

READ| Three Delhi BJP MPs skip pollution debate in LS, face Opposition wrath

On Tuesday, BJP lawmakers from Delhi - Ramesh Bidhuri and Hans Raj Hans - did not attend the debate in Lok Sabha over air pollution, while Union Minister and MP from the capital's Chandni Chowk, Harsh Vardhan, was speaking in the Rajya Sabha on the Surrogacy (Regulation) Bill, 2019.

The air quality in the national capital had reached severe and hazardous levels before a slight improvement due to wind conditions.

During the debate, BJP lawmaker Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma had slammed Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and said that all that he has given to Delhi for free is pollution.

A meeting of Parliamentary panel on urban development will be held today over the issue of the environment.

The panel will meet at 3 pm in Parliament House Annexe Extension building. Jagdambika Pal, Chairman of the Standing Committee on Urban Development will head the meeting.

A total of 21 members from the lower house are expected to take part in the meeting. This list also includes the name of Gautam Gambhir, Hema Malini, SP Singh and Sanjay Kumar.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp