Maharashtra polls: CM Devendra Fadnavis, NCP's Ajit Pawar file nominations

Fadnavis, the first BJP chief minister of the state, filed his papers from the Nagpur South-West constituency.

Published: 04th October 2019 01:27 PM  |   Last Updated: 04th October 2019 03:56 PM   |  A+A-

Fadnavis is being challenged by Congress's Ashish Deshmukh from Nagpur seat.

Fadnavis is being challenged by Congress's Ashish Deshmukh from Nagpur seat. ( Photo | ANI )


MUMBAI:  Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, Shiv Sena's Eknath Shinde and NCP leader Ajit Pawar were among the prominent Maharashtra politicians who filed nominations for the October 21 Assembly polls on Friday, the last day to submit the papers.

Fadnavis, the first BJP chief minister of the state, filed his papers from the Nagpur South-West constituency. He was accompanied by Union minister Nitin Gadkari and Maharashtra minister and state BJP chief Chandrakant Patil.

ALSO READ| Ex-Maharashtra minister Prakash Mehta's supporters attack BJP candidate Parag Shah​'s car

Fadnavis, being challenged by Congress's Ashish Deshmukh from the seat, exuded confidence that the Mahayuti (mega alliance) of the BJP, Shiv Sena, RPI(A) and other allies will register "unprecedented victory". "I am sure the blessings are with us. I will register record victory. We will win all the 12 seats in Nagpur. Our alliance will register unprecedented victory in Vidarbha and Maharashtra," he said.

Finance Minister and BJP leader Sudhir Mungantiwar will contest from Ballarpur in Chandrapur district. He was flanked by former Union minister Hansraj Ahir while submitting nomination form.

Housing Minister Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil and former Maharashtra minister Ganesh Naik, who joined the BJP in the recent past, filed nominations from Shirdi and Airoli seats, respectively. Shiv Sena leader from Thane and state minister Shinde filed nomination from the Kopri Pachpakhadi Assembly segment of the district. Pawar filed nomination from the Baramati segment he currently represents in the assembly.

ALSO READ| Nation first, self last, says BJP’s Vinod Tawde after being denied party ticket

The former Maharashtra deputy chief minister is pitted against BJP's Gopichand Padalkar in Baramati in Pune district. "I do not have doubt I will get huge response from the people in Baramati. On the day of result, Maharashtra will see the huge faith people in Baramati will repose in me," Pawar told reporters.

Senior NCP leader Chhagan Bhujbal filed nomination from the Yeola Assembly constituency in Nashik district. BJP' candidate from Kankavli constituency Nitesh Rane, too, submitted his nomination papers.

He was flanked by his father, former Maharashtra Chief Minister Narayan Rane, on the occasion. The last date of filing nomination papers is October 4, while the date for their scrutiny is October 5. Nominations can be withdrawn till October 7. The result of the election to the 288-seat Assembly will be out on October 24.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp