Maharashtra elections: BJP, Shiv Sena convince rebels to withdraw nominations

Several dissenters, who had entered the poll fray against BJP minister Atul Save, outgoing Assembly's Speaker Haribhau Bagade and other official nominees, backed out.

Published: 08th October 2019 12:31 PM  |   Last Updated: 08th October 2019 12:31 PM   |  A+A-


Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis with Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray. (Photo | File/ PTI)


AURANGABAD: The BJP and Shiv Sena have succeeded in convincing most of the rebels to withdraw their nominations against official candidates of the two allies in Maharashtra's Aurangabad district for the upcoming Assembly polls.

On the last date of withdrawal of nominations on Monday, several dissenters, who had entered the poll fray against BJP minister Atul Save, outgoing Assembly's Speaker Haribhau Bagade and other official nominees, backed out.

Save is the BJP's nominee from Aurangabad (East) Assembly seat, while Bagade is contesting from Phulambri seat.

After being persuaded, Renukadas Vaidya of the Sena withdrew his nomination against Save in Aurangabad (East).

"The BJP and Shiv Sena are allies and contesting the polls together. Hence, workers of both the parties should work together. We tried our best to counsel the rebel candidates and have been successful. This will help the alliance to gain maximum success in Aurangabad," Save told PTI.

However, he said, they failed to convince BJP worker Raju Shinde to withdraw, who filed his nomination as an Independent candidate from Aurangabad (West) seat, where Sanjay Shirsat is contesting on the Shiv Sena's ticket.

The BJP also managed to pacify its city unit deputy president Balasaheb Gaikwad to withdraw his nomination, filed as an Independent, from the seat.

Meanwhile, the nomination form of the opposition Congress candidate Ramesh Gaikwad from the seat was rejected after it was found to be incomplete.

In Aurangabad (Central) seat, where Pradeep Jaiswal of the Sena is the saffron alliance's official candidate, the BJP managed to convince its city unit chief Kishanchand Tanwani, who filed nomination as an Independent, to back out.

In Sillod constituency, where former Congress leader Abdul Sattar is contesting on Sena's ticket, the BJP pacified its leader Suresh Bankar and party worker Sunil Mirkar to withdraw their nominations on Monday.

In Kannad seat, where Kishor Pawar, the son-in-law of state Cabinet minister Babanrao Lonikar, is contesting, Shiv Sena leader Raju Rathod withdrew from the poll race.

Besides, in Vaijapur seat, where the Sena has fielded Ramesh Bornare, BJP's Dinesh Pardeshi and Eknath Jadhav, who filed their papers as Independents, pulled out of the poll fray.

The district, located in Marathwada region, has a total nine Assembly constituencies.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp