Congress, BJP neck-to-neck in Gujarat Assembly bypolls

Bypolls were held for 6 Assembly constituencies in Gujarat including Tharad, Kheralu, Amraiwadi, Lunawada, Radhanpur and Bayad.

Published: 24th October 2019 12:16 PM  |   Last Updated: 24th October 2019 12:17 PM   |  A+A-

BJP flag, Congress flag

For representational purpose (File Photo | PTI)


GANDHINAGAR: The BJP and Congress party are leading on three seats each in the Gujarat Assembly by-elections, as per the latest trends by the Election Commission.

On October 21, by-polls were held at six Assembly constituencies in Gujarat including Tharad, Kheralu, Amraiwadi, Lunawada, Radhanpur and Bayad. By-elections were necessitated in Radhanpur and Bayad after sitting Congress MLAs, Alpesh Thakor and Dhavalsinh Zala joined the Bharatiya Janata Party.

Meanwhile, sitting MLAs from Tharad, Lunawada, Kheralu and Amraiwadi were earlier elected to the Lok Sabha. The polling for the six seats were held on October 21.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp