Shiv Sena-BJP tally rises to five from three in Raigad district 

In the 2014 elections, the Sena had won two seats and the BJP one in the district located adjoining Mumbai.

Published: 25th October 2019 11:30 AM  |   Last Updated: 25th October 2019 11:30 AM   |  A+A-


Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis with Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray. ( File Photo | PTI )


ALIBAG: The Shiv Sena and BJP have increased their tally in the coastal Raigad district by winning five of the total seven Assembly constituencies in the just concluded elections in Maharashtra.

While the Shiv Sena won in three constituencies, its senior ally BJP secured two seats this time.

In the 2014 elections, the Sena had won two seats and the BJP one in the district located adjoining Mumbai.

The NCP and an independent candidate also bagged one seat each this time.

ALSO READ | Maharashtra elections: Shall form government, says Devendra Fadnavis

Although the district was once considered a stronghold of the Peasants and Workers Party (PWP), it could not win even a single seat this time.

In Alibag, the district headquarters, Mahendra Hari Dalvi of the Shiv Sena defeated sitting PWP MLA Subhash Patil.

In Uran, rebel BJP candidate Mahesh Baladi, who contested the election as an independent, defeated sitting Shiv Sena MLA Manohar Bhoir.

Former MLA Vivekanand Patil of the PWP was also among the losers.

In Panvel, sitting BJP legislator and chairman of the City and Industrial Development Corporation (CIDCO) Prashant Thakur defeated PWP candidate Haresh Keni.

ALSO READ | In a first, NOTA comes second in Latur rural

The Mahad assembly segment saw sitting Shiv Sena MLA Bharat Gogawale retaining his seat.

He won the constituency for a third straight time, defeating his nearest rival Manik Jagtap, president of the Raigad district unit of the Congress.

In Shrivardhan, NCP candidate Aditi Sunil Tatkare, who is currently president of the Zilla Parishad (ZP), won by a margin of over 38,000 votes.

She defeated Vinod Ghosalkar of the Shiv Sena.

In Pen, former Cabinet minister Ravindra Patil, who recently joined the BJP, defeated sitting PWP MLA Dhairyshil Patil.

In Karjat, Mahendra Thorve of the Shiv Sena defeated sitting NCP MLA Suresh Lad.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp