AAP announces candidates for bypolls to four assembly seats in Punjab

Byelections to four vacant Punjab assembly seats - Phagwara, Jalalabad, Dakha and Mukerian - will be held on October 21.

Published: 25th September 2019 05:25 PM  |   Last Updated: 25th September 2019 07:19 PM   |  A+A-


For representational purposes (Photo | PTI)

Express News Service

CHANDIGARH: The main opposition Aam Aadmi Party on Wednesday announced the names of its candidates for the upcoming bypolls to four assembly seats in Punjab.

Punjab President of Aam Aadmi Party and Member of Parliament from Sangrur Bhagwant Mann said Gurdhian Singh Multani has been named as the candidate from Mukerian while Santosh Kumar has been fielded from the Phagwara reserved seat. 

Mahinder Singh has been given the ticket to contest from Jalalabad and Amandeep Singh Mohi has been named as the candidate from Dakha.

He said the party will raise several issues including unemployment, farmers' suicides and unkept promises by the Congress government during the byelections.

The decision was taken in a core committee meeting of the party. The names will be sent to the Political Affairs Committee (PAC) of the AAP in Delhi, which will announce the names formally, said Mann adding that he will campaign at all four places.

He said that the PAC had given them verbal approval after the decision of the core committee was conveyed to them.

The ruling Congress has already announced its candidates for the bypolls while the Akali Dal has announced its candidate from Dakha. It is yet to name a contestant from Jalalabad.

Meanwhile, the SAD's ally BJP is also yet to announce its candidates from Mukerian and Phagwara assembly segments.

The Phagwara and Jalalabad seats fell vacant after sitting MLAs Som Parkash and Sukhbir Singh Badal were elected to the Lok Sabha from Hoshiarpur and Ferozepur parliamentary segments, respectively, in the Lok Sabha polls.

The Dakha seat got vacant after former AAP legislator and noted Supreme Court lawyer H S Phoolka's resignation was accepted by the Punjab Assembly speaker last month. The Mukerian seat fell vacant following the death of Congress MLA Rajnish Kumar Babbi last month.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp