BJP announces list of candidates for assembly bypolls in 13 states 

While four names were for Assam, five were for Kerala and 10 for Uttar Pradesh. Bihar, Chhatisgarh, Meghalaya, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Telangana had one name each in the list.

Published: 29th September 2019 04:04 PM  |   Last Updated: 29th September 2019 04:59 PM   |  A+A-

BJP flags

Image used for representational purpose (File Photo | PTI)

By Express News Service

NEW DELHI: BJP's central election committee has announced names for bye-election to state assemblies on Sunday. A total 32 names were announced by the BJP for 13 states.

The names were announced for the impending elections in Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Meghalaya, Odisha, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Telangana and Uttar Pradesh. BJP working president J.P. Nadda released the names.

The four seats in Assam – Ratabari, Jania, Rangapara and Sonari – fell vacant as the sitting MLAs got elected to Lok Sabha. By-elections to the lone Shella seat in Meghalaya has been necessitated as sitting MLA and former Chief Minister, Donkupar Roy, passed away.

The BJP is fielding Bijay Malakar in Ratabari, Towfiqur Rahman in Jania, Nabanita Handique in Sonari and Rajen Borthakur in Rangapara. The party named Joshua Warjri as its Shella candidate.

The Congress on Saturday had announced the names of its Assam candidates. Keshab Prasad Rajak will contest from Ratabari, Shamsul Haque from Jania, Kartik Kurmi from Rangapara and Sushil Suri from Sonari.

(With IANS inputs)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp