BJP candidate J P Nishad elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha from UP

The by-election was necessitated following the death of Samajwadi Party MP Beni Prasad Verma. His tenure was till July 4, 2022.

Published: 17th August 2020 07:31 PM  |   Last Updated: 17th August 2020 07:31 PM   |  A+A-

Jai prakash nishad

Jai Prakash Nishad, BJP candidate for the by-election to a Rajya Sabha seat from Uttar Pradesh, elected unopposed. (Photo | ANI)


LUCKNOW: BJP candidate Jai Prakash Nishad was declared elected to Rajya Sabha unopposed from Uttar Pradesh on Monday.

Nishad was the lone candidate to have filed nomination for the by-election and Monday was the last date for withdrawal of candidature.

Nishad has been declared elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha, Election Officer Brij Bhushan Dubey told PTI.

He was handed over the certificate declaring his election, Dubey said.

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath congratulated Nishad on his election to the upper house unopposed, an official spokesman said.

Nishad filed his nomination for the Rajya Sabha by-election on Thursday.

The by-election was necessitated following the death of Samajwadi Party MP Beni Prasad Verma.

His tenure was till July 4, 2022.

Nishad had formerly been a former Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) MLA and had joined the BJP a few years ago.

Nishad's victory was  a foregone conclusion, given the overwhelming majority the BJP enjoys in the 403-member Assembly.

The BJP has 306 MLAs, followed by the Samajwadi Party 48.

The BSP has 18 MLAs, while the Apna Dal (Sonelal), an ally of the BJP, has nine MLAs.

The Congress has seven MLAs and the Suheldev Bhartiya Samaj Party has four.

There are three Independent MLAs in the House.

The Rashtriya Lok Dal and Nirbal Indian Shoshit Hamara Apna Dal has one MLA each in the Assembly.



Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp