UP MLC polls: BJP bags 3 of 6 teachers’ seats in debut contest

However, the BJP failed to perform in its bastion of Varanasi, which is the parliamentary constituency of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and SP wrested the seat.

Published: 05th December 2020 01:07 PM  |   Last Updated: 05th December 2020 01:07 PM   |  A+A-

BJP supporters participate in a victory rally.

BJP supporters (File Photo | AP)

By Express News Service

LUCKNOW: Pitching in for the firm time in the teachers’ constituency for state legislative council election, ruling Bharatiya Janata Party made an impressive opening by winning three of the six seats, while one has been bagged by the main opposition Samajwadi Party, remaining two -- Gorakhpur and Agra-- were won by the independent candidates.

According to experts, the saffron victory had ended nearly 50-year dominance of eight-time MLC and UP Madhyamik Shikshak Sangh president Om Prakash Sharma in Meerut. However, the BJP failed to perform in its bastion of Varanasi, which is the parliamentary constituency of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and SP wrested the seat.

Besides Meerut, the BJP won the Lucknow and the Bareilly-Moradabad division teachers’ seats. The BJP had fielded candidates on four of six teachers’ constituency seats of which they won three.  The results of the six teachers’ constituency were declared by the Election Commission on late Friday night.

As per the results declared by the Election Commission, BJP’s Umesh Dwivedi won the Lucknow division teachers’ seat, Shrichand Sharma from Meerut seat and Hari Singh Dhillon from Bareilly-Moradabad seat. SP’s Lal Bihari Yadav won the Varanasi teachers’ seat. Akash Agrawal and Dhruv Kumar Tripathi, both independent candidates, bagged the Agra and Gorakhpur teachers’ seats.

Meanwhile, counting is still on for five seats belonging to graduate constituency of council. Of the five seats results for just one seat – Allahabad-Jhansi -- have been declared. The seat has been bagged by the SP which has ended 24 year dominance of the BJP on the seat. De Maan Singh of the SP has defeated BJP’s Dr Yagya Dutt Sharma who had been winning the seat for the last four consecutive terms.

The counting of votes for the five MLC seats under the graduates’ constituencies was underway, a spokesman for the Election Commission said. BJP candidates were maintaining the lead on most of the graduates’ seats as the counting was in progress.

.The biennial elections to all the 11 seats—six teachers’ and five graduates’ — were held on December 1 after hectic campaigning by the candidates and their parties. Voters for these polls are spread across several districts and many assembly segments. In teachers’ constituency, government teachers of class 10 and above register themselves as voters while in graduate constituency polls, all graduates who graduated three years before the poll-date, are voters.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp