17 TDP MLAs suspended from Assembly for disrupting AP CM's address

A visibly irritated Jagan asked the Speaker to call in the House Marshals to evict the opposition members.

Published: 20th January 2020 11:27 PM  |   Last Updated: 20th January 2020 11:27 PM   |  A+A-

Telugu Desam Party Telangana chief L Ramana (Photo | S Sengabapandian)


AMARAVATI: Seventeen MLAs of the opposition Telugu Desam Party were suspended from the Assembly on Monday night for disrupting Chief Minister Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy's address on the Andhra Pradesh Decentralisation and Inclusive Development of All Regions Bill, 2020.

The House witnessed bedlam as the TDP legislators stormed the Speaker's podium and raised slogans demanding that their leader N Chandrababu Naidu be allowed to continue with his address.

They also raised 'Jai Amaravati' slogan during the address of the Leader of the House. A visibly irritated Jagan asked the Speaker to call in the House Marshals to evict the opposition members.

Legislative Affairs Minister Buggana Rajendranath then moved a motion for the suspension of the 17 TDP MLAs, including deputy leaders K Atchannaidu and N China Rajappa.

The motion was passed by voice vote. Following this, marshals entered the House to evict the TDP members but the latter resisted, causing pandemonium.

The marshals then forcibly evicted the protesting legislators from the House, after which the chief minister continued his address.

Leader of Opposition Chandrababu Naidu later joined his colleagues at the Assembly entrance gate and staged a sit-in protest.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp