Bhagwant Mann to take oath as Punjab CM on March 16, AAP's victory roadshow in Amritsar on Sunday

AAP leader Raghav Chadha, who has been overseeing the party's Punjab affairs, was also present in the meeting.

Published: 11th March 2022 03:21 PM  |   Last Updated: 11th March 2022 07:47 PM   |  A+A-

AAP's Punjab CM candidate Bhagwant Mann and party supremo Arvind Kejriwal

AAP's Punjab CM candidate Bhagwant Mann and party supremo Arvind Kejriwal. (Photo| Twitter))

By Express News Service

CHANDIGARH: The Aam Aadmi Party will form the government in Punjab following the oath-taking ceremony at Khatkar Kalan on March 16

After the stellar show of the Aam Aadmi Party in the Punjab assembly elections, the Chief Minister-elect Bhagwant Mann reached Delhi and met AAP national convener and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal at his residence and was joined by Delhi Deputy CM Manish Sisodia and Punjab affairs co-in-charge Raghav Chadha.

"My younger brother Bhagwant Mann will take oath as the chief minister of Punjab. Today he came to my house to extend the invitation to the oath-taking ceremony. I am sure that as a chief minister, Bhagwant will fulfill every expectation of the people of Punjab," Kejriwal tweeted in Hindi.

In the meeting, it was decided that Bhagwant Mann and Arvind Kejriwal will reach Amritsar on March 13 to pay their obeisance at Golden Temple, Durgiana Mandir, and Ram Tirath Mandir. Thereafter, both the leaders will conduct a roadshow in Amritsar to celebrate their party's victory and thank the voters.

ALSO READ | Congress leadership will avoid reading answer written in bold letters: Ex-Punjab CM Amarinder Singh

He also shared a picture of the meeting. This was Mann's first meeting with Kejriwal after the assembly election results were declared on Thursday. The Aam Aadmi Party romped home in 92 of the 117 assembly seats. Mann won from the Dhuri seat by a huge margin of 58,206 votes.

Bhagwant Mann will take oath at Khatkar Kalan, the ancestral village of freedom fighter Shaheed-e-Azam Bhagat Singh. Mann registered victory with a huge margin of 58,206 votes from Dhuri and announced from the terrace of the house that the oath-swearing ceremony will be held in Khatkar Kalan of Nawanshahr district. Mann invited national convener Arvind Kejriwal for his swearing-in ceremony as AAP's first Chief Minister of Punjab.

A meeting of the party’s elected 92 MLAs is likely to be held either on Friday evening or Saturday morning. After this meeting, the party leaders led by Mann will meet Punjab Governor Banwari Lal Purohit on Saturday and stake claim to form the government. The newly-elected MLAs of the party have already begun assembling in Chandigarh for the first meeting.

Talking in Sangrur before leaving for the national capital, Mann said, "I will meet the Punjab governor on Saturday. We will seek time from him on Friday."

The party has decided to induct 17 MLAs into the Cabinet. However, only five to six candidates will be inducted into the Cabinet initially.

The names of the probable candidates who might be inducted are Aman Arora,  Harpal Cheema, Kultar Singh Sandhwan, Harjot Bains, Nina Mittal, Gurmeet Singh Meet Hayer, Saravjit Kaur Manuke and Baljinder Kaur. 

Meanwhile, Governor Banwarilal Purohit dissolved the fifteenth Punjab Vidhan Sabha with effect from the afternoon of March 11.


Talking to reporters in Sangrur before leaving for the national capital, Mann said he would meet Kejriwal to congratulate him on the party's victory in Punjab elections. Mann has said the oath-taking ceremony will be held at Khatkar Kalan, the ancestral village of legendary Bhagat Singh in Nawanshahr district.

On the party's resounding poll victory, Mann said, "The people defeated arrogant persons and they made the common people victorious."

India Matters


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp