Prashant bowls Trotters to victory

Published: 14th July 2012 10:12 AM  |   Last Updated: 14th July 2012 10:12 AM   |  A+A-


Prashant Chandran (5 for 39) and Sunny Gupta (3 for 47) starred in Globe Trotters’ eight-wicket victory over Alwarpet in the First Division League of the TNCA at Pachaiyappa’s A here on Friday. Trotters gained eight points for their victory.

In another match, Ra Aravind’s unbeaten 140 (340b, 17x4) helped T I Cycles S & RC share the honours with defending champions Vijay CC. Requiring 505 for a first-innings lead, TI Cycles ended the final day at 368-8, with Athiraj Shandilya (80, 217b, 7x4, 3x6) being the second highest scorer.

Brief scores: At MAC Stadium: Indian Bank S & RC 154 & 255-7 in 89 overs (M Shahrukh Khan 91, P Satish 69, T Selvaganapathy 36, GVS Prasad  three for 83, S Vasanth Saravanan 2/60) drew with  IOB 244 in 83.5 overs. Points: IOB 5, IB 2.

At CPT-IP: India Pistons 265 & 43-0 decl in 16 Overs (SS Pon Xavier 25 no) drew with Grand Slam 228 in 74.2 Overs (L Suryapprakash 27, K Dinesh Karthik 88,  Vijay Shankar 33, M Ashwin 4/79, A C Prathiban 2 for 65, S S Pon Xavier 2 for 18). Points: India Pistons 5, Grand Slam 2.

At Murugappa: Vijay CC 504-4 decl in 115 overs drew with T I Cycles S&RC 368-8   in 154 overs (M Santhosh Gopi 45, Athiraj Shandilya 80, R Kavin 45, Ra Aravind  140 no, S Kiran Prasath 3 for 69, S Sureshkumar 2 for 81, M Srinivasan 2/8). Points: Vijay 3, TI Cycles 3; At RKM-Viveka: Aruna CC  257 in 114.2 Overs drew with UFCC (T Nagar) 214 for  eight in 86 Overs (K Bharath Shankar 41, B Indrajith 59, M Kamalesh 46; R Rohit Ram 3/42, Deepak Singh 3 for 44). Points: UFCC (T Nagar) 3, Aruna 3; At Pachaiyappas ‘A’: Alwarpet 124 & 179 in 76.1 overs (Varun Anand 48, Prashant Chandran 5/39, Sunny Gupta 3/47, Sunil Sam 2 for 43) lost to Globe Trotters 248 & 56 for two in 16.3 Overs (Sridharan Sriram 38 no). Points: Globe Trotters 8, Alwarpet 0; At  SRMC (Turf): Jolly Rovers 559 for 7 decl drew with Young Stars 291  in 95.4 overs (V Subramania Siva 57, K Martin Sanjeev 65, Praveen Srivatsan 46,  Petson  Matthews 51 no, M Prabhu 4/105, R Jesuraj 3/48). Points: Jolly Rivers 5. Young Stars 2.

Excise, Army XI enter last four Central Excise defeated Lucknow Sports Hostel 4-3 to move into the semifinals of the IOB-Syed Ahmed All India Hockey tournament held at the Mayor Radhakrishnan Stdium on Friday.

In the another quarterfinals, Army XI trounced Southern Railway, Chennai 8-2. The semifinal lineup will be Central Excise vs Indian Bank and Army XI vs South Central Railway.

For Central Excise, Laxman Karan (2), Sathya Rajan and Stephen Babu scored while for the losers Faiz Alam, Uttam Kumar and Imran Khan were successful. Laxman Karan was declared the man of the match.

Army XI went on a goal scoring spree opening account in the very 7th minute itself. Arumugam (2), Poovanna(2), Rajesh Kumar, Suresh Kumar, Sunil Ekka and Chittaranjan scored for the sappers.

Jayraj and Ganesh reduced the margin for Southern Railway. Eliazek Lakara of Army XI was adjudged the man of the match. Internationals Wilson Cherian and Azeez Ahmed were the chief guests of the day.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp