Karan lifts U-17 Badminton title

Published: 27th July 2012 02:26 PM  |   Last Updated: 27th July 2012 02:26 PM   |  A+A-


Karan Rajan defeated K Harish 21-12, 21-11 in the U-17  boys singles final of the Li-Ning Chennai District Badminton Championship, organised by Chennai District Badminton Association at the SDAT Nehru Indoor Stadium.

Results: U-10: Boys: Final: Siddhanth Gupta (Towers Club) bt Rithivik Sanjeevi (Towers Club)

21-9, 21-17; Semifinals: Siddhanth Gupta (Towers Club) bt Srinath (Alumni Club) 21-7, 21-4;

Rithivik Sanjeevi (Towers Club) bt Srikrishna (YMCA) 21-8, 21-4.

Doubles: Final: Siddhanth Gupta/Rithivik Sanjeevi (Towers Club) bt Srikrishna/Shashank (YMCA) 21-5, 21-9.

Girls: Final: Chandika (Alumni Club) bt Rajivi (Sterling) 21-16, 17-21, 21-17.

U-17: Boys: Final: Karan Rajan bt K Harish 21-12, 21-11. Semifinals: K Harish bt Vishal Upendra 24-22, 21-18; Karan Rajan bt Chandra Mouleeswar 21-7, 21-10.

Doubles: Final: Chandra Mouleeswar/Deepak Jesudoss bt Naresh/Karthikeyan 21-14, 21-13.

Semifinals: Chandra Mouleeswar/Deepak Jesudoss bt S Riyaz Ahmed/Anoop 21-8, 21-14; Naresh/Karthikeyan bt M.Udaya Suriya/D Vinoth  21-15, 21-18.

Girls: Final: Roshini bt S Shruthi  14-21, 21-17, 21-19. Semifinals: S Shruthi bt Vaishnavi Iyer 21-16, 21-17; Roshini bt Keerthana 21-9, 21-16.

U-19: Boys: Final: Vembarasan (ABS Club) bt S Godwin 21-11, 21-13. Semifinals: S Godwin bt Harish 21-17, 16-21, 21-18; Vembarasan (ABS Club) bt K Pramod 21-13, 21-15.

Doubles: Final: K Pramod/Harish (Friends club) bt Chandra Mouleeshwar/Deepak 20-22, 21-12, 21-9. Semifinals: K Pramod/Harish (Friends club) bt Vembarasan/Samraj Udayar 21-19, 21-19; Chandra Mouleeshwar/Deepak bt T Ashish/Dasrath 21-13, 21-10.

Girls: Final: Roshini bt Ramya Thulasi 21-14, 23-21.

Veteran Doubles: Final: S Takiya/Cherian (MRC) bt V Suresh/P Mohan (YMCA, Kilpauk) 21-17,

21-6. Semifinals: V Suresh/PS Mohan bt T Shankar/Vijay Karekar (Towers Club) 21-16, 21-18; Takiya/Cherian (MRC) bt Dhanasekar/Ganesh 21-11, 14-21, 21-11.


NSVV (Pattiveeranpatti) defeated American College HSS, Madurai 61-57 in the final league match of the Mahendran Memorial State-level Basketball Inter-schools tournament at the Nungambakkam playground.

K. Srivatsava, Chief Commissioner, Central Excise, presided and  Mala Srivatsava, Chief Commissioner, Customs Department, gave away the prizes.

Special prizes were given to the following: Valuable player: Diwakar (NSVV); Promising Players: Aravind (AC HSS) and Jason (Union Christian School).

Results: NSVV 61 (Diwakar 17, Sudan 11, Jeevanandam 13) bt American College HSS (Madurai) 57 (Aravind 33, Rajesh Kumar 12, Anuganth 10). Third-place match: MCTM 65 (Kannan 27, Karthi 13, Madusudan 10) bt Sherwood Hall 60 (Nikhil 31, Nirmal 10).


Southern Railway will meet Integral Coach Factory while  Indian Overseas Bank will take on Tamil Nadu Police (all from Chennai) in the semifinals of the 20th state-level hockey tournament for the Rajamani-Kanagamani Ammal Memorial Trophy.

In the quarterfinal played  in Madurai on Thursday,  Southern Railway  looked in ominous form and routed Indian Bank 5-0.  IB looked out of sorts and succumbed without a fight. In the other quarterfinals, ICF beat South Zone Police Madurai 2-1;  IOB outplayed Income Tax, Chennai  6-0. Tamil Nadu Police got the better of Central Excise 2-1.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp