Sahana books London berth

Karnataka high jumper clears 1.92m to set new national record & qualify for 2012 London Olympics.

Published: 24th June 2012 10:14 AM  |   Last Updated: 19th July 2012 03:11 PM   |  A+A-

The wait was worth it. After a long delay of two hours, the comeback athlete Sahana Kumari of Karnataka scaled to a new height of 1.92 metres in the women’s high jump to book a ticket to London Olympics on the first day of the four-day 52nd National inter-state senior athletic championship at GMC Balayogi Stadium on Saturday.

The 31-year-old Kumari, mother of seven-year-old daughter Pavana, touched the ‘B’ mark and in the process beat the national record of Bobby Aloysius of 1.91 metres set in June 2002. She became the 14th athlete to qualify for the London Games.

Despite the delay, Kumari was a focused athlete today. “I knew I could clear 1.92 metres because I had good training but the delay did upset me. But once my coach gave me the confidence, I could go through the motions,’’ she said.

Earlier,  Local girl Satti Geetha brought cheers to the home-crowd this evening as she sprinted to victory in the women’s 100 metres event. The 28-year-old Geetha, a member of  Doha Asiad six years ago, pulled away  from the rest of the athletes  to win flat 12 seconds. The AP girl, who switched over from 400 metres to the sprint, upstaged defending champion MM Anchu (Kerala), who finished second (12.04 seconds).  Pre-race favourite Manisha of Haryana had disqualified for a false start.

However, there was cloud of controversy over the men’s 100 metres  winner Dharambir Singh. The 21-year—old Haryana sprinter after winning in 10.51 seconds disappeared  from the field and did not go for dope test. “The officials waited for a long time. We will give the report,’’ said an official.


Men: Triple jump: 1. Arpinder Singh (Punjab) 15.90m, 2. Saurabh (UP) 15.79m, 3.

Rajasekhar (TN) 15.69m.

Discus throw: 1. Dharam Raj (MP) 51.62s, 2. Sushil Kumar (UP) 50.61m. 3. Binoy CG

(Kerala) 49.39m.

5,000m: 1. Indrajeet Patel (UP) 14:21.44s, 2. Man Singh (Delhi) 14:24.95s, 3. Nitinender Singh (Uttarkhand) 14:25.36s.

100m: 1. Dharambir (Har) 10.51s, 2. Md Abdul Qureshi (AP)  10.59s, 3. Krishna Kumar

(Mah) 10.60s.

Women: 5000: 1. Sahnara Khatun (Bengal) 17:58.56s, 2. Athre Monika (Mah) 18:02.78s, 3. Archana Pal (UP) 18:09.51s.

100m: 1: Satti Geeta (AP) 12.00s, 2. MM Anchu (Ker) 12.18s, 3. Ruma Sarkar (Beng)


Pole vault: 1. Surekha (TN) 3.60m, 2. SV Khyatti (Kar) 3.50m, 3. R Remya (Ker) 3.40m.

High jump:  1. Sahana Kumari (Kar) 1.92 m, 2. Mallika Mondal (Beng) 1.79m, 3. NK Siji (Ker) 1.76m.

Javelin throw: 1. Anu Rani (UP) 53.95m, 2. Suman Devi (UP) 53.61m, 3. Rupinder Kaur

(Pun) 47.01 m.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp