Dilbagh overcomes Amit in tough encounter

Published: 02nd November 2012 09:13 AM  |   Last Updated: 02nd November 2012 09:13 AM   |  A+A-


Giving a plucky display, eight-times champion Dilbagh Singh of Railways edged past a fighting Amit Karki of Services 20-18 in a fiercely contested third round bout in the men’s welterweight category (69 kg) of the 59th National Boxing championship at Lal Bahadur Indoor Stadium on Thursday.

The Nilam depression brought rains to the city today forcing the organisers to shift the bouts from the open rings to the Boxing Gym Hall and the Indoor Stadium. However, the duel between Dilbagh and Amit Karki was the showdown piece of the day. Boxing with all passion, Dilbagh, who never misses any national event, was on the back foot against Karki in the first round. The Services pugilist collected vital points against Dilbagh to lead 7-6. However, in the second Dilbagh, the Commonwealth Games bronze medallist, came back strongly, raining punches on Karki’s face. The Railways boxer totally dominated the second round to win eight points and led 14-11. In the third and final round, it was a close affair. Karki landed good blows and Dilbagh withstood the onslaught to squeeze out in the end. Although Karki scored 7-6, Dilbagh emerged winner at 20-18. “I have always won against Karki,’’ said the 31- year-old Railways boxer. Dilbagh faces hosts’ Surender, who outclassed Vijender of Rajasthan 22-12. Meanwhile, Commonwealth Games bronze medallist Amandeep Singh of the Railways and 2009 Asian Championship gold medallist Nanao Singh of the Services team were on course to clash in the championship round. Round Three saw both the pugilists defeat their respective opponents with straightforward victories to march into the quarter-finals of the event.

 results (Third round): Light flyweight (46-49 kgs): Pankaj Saini (Pun) bt Tarsem Kumar (Bih) 20-9; K.

 Sagar (AP) bt Raju (UP) 35-21; Vinod Kumar (SPSB) bt Bhojram (UP) 20-18; T. Nanao Songh (SSCB) bt Sumit (Goa) 17-5; L Amarjeet Singh (Man) bt Vipin Kumar (Raj) 14-6; Naveen Kumar (Har) bt Tara Chand (MP) 18-14; Salman Anwar (Mah) bt Sumeet Hooda (Chd) 21-9; Amand Deep (RSPB) bt Lal Chand Dhawan 10-5.

 Flyweight (52 kgs): Santosh Fakirappa (Goa) bt Rahul Puniya (Har) 9-6; Labir Singh (AIP) bt Sandeep (Aru) 13-5; Madan lal (SSCB) bt Lamkupar T.

 (Meg) RSC second round: Bhaskar (SPSB) bt Sunil (Chd) 22-10; Mahimai Nathar (K-ar) bt Naveen Kumar (Chd) 5-1; Sandeep (Tri) bt Ranjeet (Jhr) 23-8; V Balakrishna (AP) bt Suraj Singh (Utk) 9-5; Gorav Bidhuri (Del) bt Anuj Pradhan (Sik) RSC.

 Bantamweight (56 kgs): Ashish (UP) bt Amit Bisht (Raj) 21-12; Kulwinder Singh (Pun) bt Kamal Singh (Tri) 10-6; Chote Lal Yadav (SSCB) bt Surender (Chd) 26-12; S.

 Santosh (Man) bt Prahlad (Jhr) 11-1; Ajay Kumar (Har) bt Wanbudien (Meg) 16-7; VD Rao (Kar) bt Pranit Kumbhar (Mah) 14-12; Yudhveer (MP) bt Anubhav ((Utk) 15-5; Sandeep Kumar (Har0 bt Arvind Pradhan (Meg) 24-12; Vikas (J&K) bt Pradeep (AIP 17-12; Vikas (RSPB) bt Muanpuia (Miz) 14-5; Rohit Tokas (Del) bt Govind (Asm) 14-4.

 Lightweight (60 kgs): Anil Kumar (Bih) bt Rahul (Utk) 15-11; Mahesh Singh (UP) bt Manikanta Ashok (AP) 15-5; Surinder Singh (SSCB) bt Deva Naik (Goa) 22-16.

 Bantam weight (56 kg): Ajay Kumar (Har) bt Wanbudien (Meg) 16-7; VD Rao (Kar) bt Pranit Kumbhar (Mah) 14-12; Yudhveer (MP) bt Anubhav ((Utk) 15-5; Sandeep Kumar (Har0 bt Arvind Pradhan (Meg) 24-12; Vikas (J&K) bt Pradeep (AIP 17-12; Vikas (RSPB) bt Muanpuia (Miz) 14-5; Rohit Tokas (Del) bt Govind (Asm) 14-4.

 Light welter (64 kg): Kulvinder (Ker) bt Naresh Kumar (Chd) 14- 10; Neresend Singh (Pun) bt L Bishorjit (Man) 14-3; Afzal Ahmed (Cht) bt Ritesh (MP) 11-10; Manish Pawar (Del) bt Pramod (Tri) 6; Aditya Mane (Mah) bt Mandepally Ganesh (AP) 21-9.

 Welter (69 kg): Dilbag Singh (RSPB) bt Amit Karki (SSCB) 20- 18; K Surender (AP) bt Vijender (Raj) 22-12.


Stay up to date on all the latest Sport news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp