Emeka stars in Indian Bank’s victory

Published: 19th November 2012 10:28 AM  |   Last Updated: 19th November 2012 10:28 AM   |  A+A-

Emeka Christian Offor’s brace of goals in the 22nd and 63rd minutes fashioned Indian Bank’s 4-1 victory over Hindustan Eagles in the St Joseph’s-CFA Senior Division League at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium here on Sunday. P Karthik (40th) and S Karthik (50th) were the goalscorers. Joydip Debnath netted the consolation goal for the losers five minutes from the final whistle.

In the first match, RPF defeated ICF 1-0, with C Muhammeel Hafeem netting the winner in the 75th minute.

Jayaveena Shines

Upcoming swimmer AV Jayaveena of Turtles clocked 35.50 seconds to better her own record  (35.66 seconds) in the 50 metres breaststroke Group II event at the Tamil Nadu State Aquatic  Championship at Velachery Aquatic Complex here on Sunday.

Results: Girls (Freestyle 50m): Group III: PM Abishiktha (ORCA) 30.97; 1500m (Group I): Shruthi Mahalingam (Turtles) 19:52.40; Group II: Nikita Bhaiya (ORCA) 20:22.24; Individual Medley: 200m (Group V): R Rakshana (SDAT Cuddalore) 3:29.19.

100m (Group VI): A Jedidah (SDAT Trichy) 1:41.65 (NMR).

400m (Group I): VKR Meenakshi (Turtles) 5:50.74; Group II: M Maneesha (SDAT Trichy) 6:19.78;

Backstroke 50m (Group I): VKR Meenakshi (Turtles) 33.29;

Group II: Bhavya Mukund (ORCA) 42.49; Group IV: R Jaahnavi (ORCA) 38.44; Group V: R Rakshana (SDAT Cuddalore) 45.40.

Butterfly 50m (Open): M Raghavi (Turtles) 32.26; Group I: Mugdha Mallareddy (ORCA) 31:89;

Group II: Sherlyn Devadason (ORCA) 30.69; Group III: S Umadevi (TSPA) 33.57; Group IV: SM Swetha (Chennai Corpn) 36:58.

Breaststroke: 25m (Group VI): A Jedidah (SDAT Trichy) 25.45;

50m (Open): M Raghavi (Turtles) 38.93; Group I: Mugdha Mallareddy (ORCA) 39.16; Group II: AV Jayaveena (Turtles) 35.50 (NMR);

100m (Group III): S Umadevi (TSPA) 1:31.19; Men (Freestyle 1500m) Group I: JT Yugesh Kumar (Turtles) 17:49.79; Group II: S Aswathaaman (Turtles) 19:23.23; Individual Medley: (100m Group VI) S Karthikeyan (Turtles) 1:38.35 (NMR); 200m (Group V): J Jeffin (SDAT Tuticorin) 3:29.34; 400m (Group I): Sethu Manickavel (TDSA Tirunelveli) 4:55.13; Group II: C Ruban Kumar (Turtles) 05:15:55. Backstroke (50m: Open): K Rajkumar (TSPA) 00:32:94; Group I: K Mugunthan (TSPA) 29.72; Group II: P Mukundhan (SDAT Shakthi) 30.62;

Group IV: D Adhithya (TSPA) 37.57; Group V: J Jeffin (SDAT Tuticorin) 44.88.

Chennai Score

Chennai defeated Nilgiris 25-7, 25-6 in the men’s section of the SDAT 1st state-level volleyball tournament for Chief Minister’s Trophy.

Results: Men: Coimbatore bt Madurai 25-11, 25-11; Thiruvarur bt Krishnagiri 25-13,25-11; Chennai bt Nilgiris 25-7, 25-6; Kancheepuram bt Dharmapuri 25-11, 25-10; Kanyakumari bt Tiruchi 25-16, 25-19; Thiruvannamalai bt Tirunelveli 25-16, 25-23; Salem bt Virudhunagar 28-26, 25-15; Women: Kancheepuram bt Kanyakumari 25-7, 25-17; Erode bt Villupuram 25-4; 25-5; Chennai bt Tirunelveli 25-4, 25-6; Thanjavur bt Tirupur 25-19, 25-19;  Madurai bt Pudukkottai 25-14,  25-16; Virudhunagar bt Dindigul 25-15, 25-21; Nagapattinam bt Salem 25-21, 18-25, 25-18; Coimbatore bt Karur 25-8, 25-5.

Stay up to date on all the latest Sport news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp