Vignesh stars in St Patrick’s two-wicket win

Published: 06th February 2013 09:58 AM  |   Last Updated: 06th February 2013 09:58 AM   |  A+A-

GV Vignesh’s 84 set up St Patrick’s two-wicket victory over Nellai Nadar in the TSN Trophy T20 tournament, organised by Agni College of Technology.

Brief scores: St Bede’s A I Hr Sec School 165 for 7 in 20 overs (M S Washington Sundar 73, V Dinesh Kumar 35) bt PSBB, Nungambakkam 121 for 5 in 20 overs (S Aravind 47, Hrishi K Narayan 30, M Abhinav Sundar 3-20). MoM: M Abhinav Sundar; Nellai Nadar Hr Sec School, Kottivakkam 150 for 7 in 20 overs (M Manoj Seervi 38, P Praveen Kumar 52, R Ahilan 29) lost to St Patrick’s A I Hr Sec School, Adyar 151 for 8 in 20 overs (GV Vignesh 84). MoM: GV Vignesh.

St Joseph’s top

St Joseph’s College of Engineering bagged the overall championship in the inter-collegiate tournament at SA College of Engineering. St Joseph’s women team bagged titles in three events — basketball, volleyball and table tennis.  Dr B Babu Manoharan, Director St Joseph’s College Of Engineering, felicitated the players for their feat.

Results: Basketball: Final league: St Joseph’s bt JPR Engg College 48-47. Volleyball: Final league: St Joseph’s bt Panimalar Engg College 25-23, 25-16;

Table Tennis: Final league: St Joseph’s bt SSN College of Engineering 2-0.

Pavithra Triumphs

P Pavithra of Princess Academy defeated G Aishwaraya Ravi of PSBB 11-5, 11-5, 11-6 in the senior girls singles of the Jusssportz–Gymnco Republic Day Cup Tanveer Memorial-SDAT AKG inter-school, corporate/journalists table tennis tournament.

Results: Boys: Sub-junior: Final: D Vishwa (JGVV) bt D Sankeeth (Chinmaya) 15-13, 11-7, 8-11, 7-11, 11-4. Semifinals: Vishwa (JGVV) bt S.Karthikeyan (St Michaels) 11-1,12-10,11-6; D Sankeeth (Chinmaya) Magnus Christopher (Union Christ) 11-9,11-5,11-7. Junior: Final: M Abilash (PSBB) bt P Deenadayalan(St Joseph) 11-2, 13-11, 11-6. Semifinals: M Abilash (PSBB) bt A K Aravind (BVM) 11-7, 11-7, 11-7; P Deenadayalan (St Joseph) bt F Sebastian (St Joseph) 11-7, 9-11, 6-11, 12-10, 11-7. Senior: Final: V Abhinay (Modern SSS) bt B Aravind (KPC) 13-15, 11-7, 4-11, 7-11. Semifinals: B Arrvind (KPC) bt M Abilash (PSBB) 11-6, 11-9, 11-3; V Abhinay (Modern SSS) bt S Gnaneshwaran (P T Lee) 5-11, 11-9, 11-6, 11-8.

Girls: Sub-junior: Final: DK Vedhalakshmi (Velammal) bt R Yamini (Chinmaya) 11-9, 11-6, 11-7. Senior: Final: P Pavithra (Princess) bt G Aishwaraya Ravi (PSBB) 11-5, 11-5, 11-6.

Semifinals: G Aishwarya Ravi (PSBB) bt N Deepika (Bentick) 11-6, 11-4, 11-8; P Pavithra (Princess) bt N Narmadha (TELC) 11-1, 10-12, 11-5, 11-4.

Stay up to date on all the latest Sport news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp