Easy win for Jeevan; Balaji knocked out

Published: 28th February 2013 08:23 AM  |   Last Updated: 28th February 2013 08:23 AM   |  A+A-


Third seed Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan of India scored a facile 6-0, 6-2 win over Giulio Torroni (ITA) to lead a contingent of five Indians into the quarterfinals of the MCC-SR Subramaniam Memorial ITF Mens Futures being played at the TNTA Courts, at the Mayor Radhakrishnan Stadium.

Tak Khunn Wang of France stroked, served and returned fluently to upset the 2nd seed Sriram Balaji 6-2, 7-6 (3). Sriram was outplayed in the first set and did fight back in the second, but Wang kept his cool to win the tiebreak comfortably 7-3. In another long match that lasted 2.45 hours, Thales Turini of Brazil (4) outlasted Moraing of Germany.

Results: (pre-quarterfinals):

V Crivoi (ROU) bt L Urrutia Fuentes (CHI) 6-2, 6-1; E Antony (IND) bt V Shokeen (IND) 6-7 (6), 6-4, 6-2; T Turini (BRA) bt Mats Moraing (GER) 7-5, 6-7 (8), 7-6 (8); R Virali-Murugesan (IND) bt Mohd Assri Merzuki (MAS) 6-4, 6-2; N Vijay Sundar Prashanth (IND) bt S Rawat (IND) 6-2, 6-4; J Nedunchezhiyan (IND) bt G Torroni (ITA) 6-0, 6-2; V Malik (IND) bt T Schonenberg (GER) 6-4, 6-1; Tak Khunn Wang (FRA) bt N Sriram Balaji (IND) 6-2, 7-6 (3).

Revathi shines

M Revathi’s 47 helped Hyderabad beat Karnataka by six wickets in the fourth round of the  BCCI  Senior Women T20 (South Zone) cricket tournament.

Brief scores: At Murugappa:

Karnataka  99 for 6 in 20 overs (Karuna Jain 25 no, Akanksha Kohli 20, S Nath 2/14) lost to Hyderabad 100 for 4 in 18.5 overs (M Revathi 47, S Naidu 31 no); Points: Hyderabad 4 (12); Karnataka 0  (8); At SRMC: Tamil Nadu 75  for 8 in 20 overs (MD Thirushkamini 27, P Anusha  23, S Asha 3/15) lost to Kerala 76 for 4 in 17.3 overs (P Rakhi 35); Points: Kerala 4 (12); Tamil Nadu 0 (12); Andhra 147 for three in 20 overs (S Monika Sai 66 no, V Sneha Deepthi 54, R Chavan 2/36) bt Goa 104 for 6 in 20 overs (R Rawal 50 no, S Divkar 29, SU Salma Banu 3/18, S Meghana 2/12); Points: Andhra 4 (4); Goa 0 (0).

chess tourney

About 500 players including the likes of Grand Masters S Arun Prasad, MR Venkatesh, Deepan Chakravarthy, Sundarajan Kidambi, and SP Sethuraman, International Masters P Karthikeyan,  C Praveen Kumar and Ramnath Bhuvanesh will be seen in action in the `2 lakhs prize money Lightning Chess tournament organised by TN  Chess Association as part of the 65th Birthday celebrations of Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu.

The one-day event will be held on March 3 at the Jawaharlal Nehru Multi-Purpose Indoor Stadium, Periamet.

Stay up to date on all the latest Sport news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp