Akhil steals the show yet again

Published: 22nd July 2013 08:07 AM  |   Last Updated: 22nd July 2013 08:07 AM   |  A+A-

It was a weekend to remember for Akhil Khushlani as the 23-year-old Hyderabadi completed the first round of the 16th JK Tyre National Racing Championship without letting a single car past him.

Like in the first race on Saturday, he won the second and third races on Sunday unchallenged, leading the grid from start unto finish.  He was clearly the more experienced of the lot and didn’t let himself get carried away. Chitesh Mandody and Akhil Rubindra respectively finished second and third behind Akhil in the second race, while Vishnu Prasad edged out Arjun Maini for the second spot in the following race.

The second race was a virtual one-man show as Akhil finished more than 14 seconds faster than his closest competitor.

Rahil Noorani Wins Polo R Cup Race 1

After grabbing pole on Saturday, Rahil Noorani continued his great run by winning first race of the Polo R Cup 2013. South African driver, Jeffrey Kruger, closely trailed him while Prashant Tharani finished the final spot. The race was not without incidents as rookie driver Diviraj Thakran’s car hit the tyre wall and toppled. The incident forced him to retire while the race was red flagged. Results: JK Tyre India Racing Series: Race 2: 1) A Khushlani (16.50.916) 2) C Mandody (17.05.176) 3) A Rubindra (17.08. 392); Race 3: 1) A Khushlani (16.47.849), 2) V Prasad (16.52.058) 3) A Maini (16.52.443). Volkswagen Polo R Cup: Race 1: 1) R Noorani (14.26.151), 2) J Kruger (14:28.820) 3) P Tharani (14:35.441). Formula LGB4: Race 3: 1. S Hataria (20.40.452) 2. V Prasad (20.40.808) 3. A Bafna (20.43.706).


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp