FSCA clinch U-14 crown

Published: 13th May 2013 11:12 AM  |   Last Updated: 13th May 2013 11:12 AM   |  A+A-

G Viswanathan’s unbeaten 92 paved the way for FSCA to beat CSSF ‘A’ by 88 runs in the final of the Dicky Memorial Under-14 cricket tournament, at St Bede’s grounds.

Brief scores: FSCA 292 for 4 in 50 overs (G Suryakanth 75, S Kishan Kumar 51, G Viswanathan 92 no) bt CSSF ‘A’ 204 for 8 in 50 overs (Abishek Selvakumar 26, Sai Sudarsan 25, S Santhosh Kumar 71, R Audhi Sachin 32, S Kishan Kumar 4/21); MoM: S Kishan Kumar; Special awards: Best Batsman: S Abhishek (CSSF ‘A’); Best Bowler: P Vidyuth  (CSSF ‘A’); Promising Cricketer: G Vishwanthan (FSCA); Best Fielder: A Mohd. Adnan Khan (CSSF ‘A’); Man of the tournament (Bicycle): S Kishan Kumar (FSCA).

Rohan Sparkles

S Rohan’s 4 for 15 was the feature of Chennai CA’s 117-run win over Abdul Jabbar CA in the final of the India Pistons Under-17 cricket tournament.

Brief scores: Final: Chennai CA 194 for 7 in 30 overs (B Pradhan 41, S Shyam Sundar 57, KR Abishek 37; S Akshay 4/27) bt Abdul Jabbar CA 77 in 19.1 overs (S Rohan 4/15). MoM: S Rohan; Special awards: Best Batsman: S Shyam Sundar (Chennai CA); Best Bowler: M Monish Raj (IP CA); Best Fielder: S Nidhish (IP CA); Man of the series: M Huzefa (Abdul Jabbar CA).

Decision on IPL Tickets on Monday

Fans in the city are disappointed that three stands (G, H, I) at the MA Chidambaram stadium for the Chennai Super Kings vs Delhi Daredevils IPL match to be played on Tuesday have been sealed by the Corporation. CSK’s team management are also naturally disappointed, and a decision on the fate of tickets already sold pertaining to the three sealed stands will be taken on Monday as per sources from a top TNCA official.

Selection Trials

The Thiruvallur District Chess Association will be conducting the 17th District selection trials for the womens chess championship on May 15th at Friends Chess Club, 3/28, Vellalar st. Senneerkuppam, Chennai-600 056.

Players belonging to Tiruvallur District are only allowed to participate in this tournament. The top four ranked players of the tournament will represent Tiruvallur District in the forthcoming 41st Tamil Nadu State FIDE Rated Women’s Chess Championship to be held at Tiruvarur from May 25 to 30.

Entry fee of `150 and membership fee of `50 for the year 2013-14 will be collected. For further details, contact: ViIlankumar, Ph: 9884854008.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp