President Gives Away National Sports Awards

Khel Ratna missing for the first time in two decades

Published: 29th August 2014 09:56 PM  |   Last Updated: 29th August 2014 10:15 PM   |  A+A-


President Pranab Mukherjee presents Arjuna Award 2014 to Yumanam Renu Bala Chanu weightlifting Heena Sidhu shooting Tintu Luka athletics Anaka Alankamony squash Mamatha Poojari Kabbaddi and Geethu Anna Rahul basketball at the National Sports and Adventure

NEW DELHI: With a Khel Ratna missing for the first time in two decades, President Pranab Mukherjee gave away the National Sports Awards during a ceremony held at the Rashtrapati Bhavan here Friday.

For the first time since 1994, the awards selection committee headed by cricket legend Kapil Dev and including the likes of Anju Bobby George and Kunjarani Devi, two media persons and three government representatives, including Sports Authority of India Director General Jiji Thomson failed to decide on a name for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, the country's highest sporting honour.

Vice President M. Hamid Ansari and Sports Minister Sarbananda Sonowal were also present at the ceremony.

Sportspersons Tintu Luka (athletics), Anirban Lahiri (golf), H.N. Girisha (paralympics), V. Diju (badminton), Geetu Ann Jose (basketball), Jai Bhagwan (boxing), Renubala Chanu (weightlifting), Heena Sidhu (shooting), Sunil Rana (wrestling) and Akhilesh Varma (archery) received the Arjuna Award.

Ravichandran Ashwin was not present at the function. This is not the first time that a cricketer has been missing. The spinner is at present in England touring with the Indian squad.

The Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand awardees received statuettes, citations and cash prize of Rs.5 lakh each while recipients of Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar were presented trophies.

Awards list:

Arjuna Awards: Akhilesh Varma (Archery), Tintu Luka (Athletics), H.N. Girisha (Paralympics), V. Diju (Badminton), Geetu Ann Jose (Basketball), Jai Bhagwan (Boxing), Ravichandran Ashwin (Cricket), Anirban Lahiri (Golf), Mamta Pujari (Kabaddi), Saji Thomas (Rowing), Heena Sidhu (Shooting), Anaka Alankamany (Squash), Tom Joseph (Volleyball), Renubala Chanu (Weightlifting) and Sunil Rana (Wrestling).

Dronacharya Awards: Mahabir Prasad (Wrestling), N. Lingappa (Athletics - Lifetime), G. Manoharan (Boxing - Lifetime), Gurcharan Singh Gogi (Judo - Lifetime), Jose Jacob (Rowing - Lifetime).

Dhyan Chand Awards: Gurmail Singh (Hockey), K.P. Thakkar (Swimming - Diving), Zeeshan Ali (Tennis).

Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar: 1. Employment of sports persons and sports welfare measures - Oil and Natural Gas Corporation Limited (ONGC), 2. Community sports - identification and nurturing of budding /young talent - Jindal Steel Works (JSW), 3. Establishment and management of sports academies of excellence - Guru Hanuman Akhara, Delhi, 4. Other forms of sports activities not covered in the four categories mentioned in the schemes - Child Link Foundation of India (Magic Bus).

India Matters


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp