Full Strength Indian Team for Azlan Shah Cup

Sardar Singh to lead full strength team in coach Paul Van Ass\' first tournament in-charge of the national team.

Published: 25th March 2015 12:53 PM  |   Last Updated: 25th March 2015 12:53 PM   |  A+A-


New Delhi: Ace midfielder Sardar Singh will lead a full strength Indian men's hockey team at the 24th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup to be held in Ipoh, Malaysia from April 5 to 12.

The Azlan Shah Cup, despite being an invitational tournament, has seen India go for a strong 18-member squad, with just three changes from last December's Champions Trophy in Bhubaneswar.

Midfielder Danish Mujtaba, striker Lalit Upadhyay and defender Gurjinder Singh are the three players to miss out and in their places midfielder Chinglensana Singh and forwards Satbir Singh and Mandeep Singh have been drafted into the side.

While Sardar will captain the team, goalkeeper PR Sreejesh will continue to be his deputy.

Besides two goalkeepers — Sreejesh and Harjot Singh — the squad will have five defenders in Gurbaj Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh, Birendra Lakra, Kothajit Singh and VR Raghunath.

The midfield will be under the leadership of the skillful Sardar and he will be assisted by Manpreet Singh, Dharamvir Singh, Chinglensana and SK Uthappa, while Ramadeep Singh, SV Sunil, Akashdeep Singh, Nikkin Thimmaiah, Satbir and Mandeep will form India's forwardline.

The event will also be Dutchman Paul van Ass' first assignment as the new chief coach of the Indian men's hockey team.

"The Sultan Azlan Shah Cup will be my first tournament as coach of this team and I look forward to a positive start by doing well in this tournament," Van Ass said after the

selection of the team on Wednesday.

"The players and I are still trying to know each other both, professionally as well as on the personal front. Judging by the intensity and effort put in by these players on the field during the preparations, I have much confidence in this team and hope to have a great start as one unit. I’ve seen them play in the Champions Trophy last year and they are turning into a formidable line-up who are keen to take on new challenges."

Talking about the Azlan Shah-bound team, captain Sardar said, "The team composition is almost the same as the Champions Trophy, although we have three new inclusions — Chinglensana Singh Kangujam, Satbir Singh and Mandeep Singh. All three will help boost our options in attack.

"I think their contribution for their respective teams in Hockey India League 2015 helped them make a comeback into the national squad."

Besides India and hosts Malaysia, the other participating nations in this year's Azlan Shah Cup are Australia, New Zealand, Korea and Canada.

India will play their first match against Korea on April 5 followed by games against New Zealand (April 6), Malaysia (April 8), Canada (April 9) and Australia (April 11).

Squad: Goalkeepers: PR Sreejesh, Harjot Singh. Defenders: Gurbaj Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh, Birendra Lakra, Kothajit Singh, VR Raghunath. Midfielders: Manpreet Singh, Sardar Singh, Dharamvir Singh, Chinglensana Singh, SK Uthappa. Forwards: Ramandeep Singh, SV Sunil, Akashdeep Singh, Nikkin Thimmaiah, Satbir Singh, Mandeep Singh.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp