Easy entry for top seeds into Futures quarterfinals

Published: 15th September 2016 04:32 AM  |   Last Updated: 15th September 2016 04:32 AM   |  A+A-

CHENNAI: The top three seeds — Sanam Singh, Vishnu Vardhan and Vijay Sundar Prashanth — eased into the quarterfinals of the Justice PS Kailasam ITF International men’s tennis tournament with star at the Powerpak Tennis Academy.

Results: Singles (pre-quarters): Sanam Singh bt Bava Haadin 6-1, 6-1; Vishwakarma bt Zgombic 6-3, 6-2 ; Sriram Balaji bt Bajwa 6-4, 7-5; Kaliyanda Poonacha bt Suresh 6-2, 6-4; Rishab bt M Jayaprakash 6-4, 7-6 (4); Vijay Sundar Prashanth bt Suresh Kumar 6-2, 6-3; Kaza Vinayak bt Dalwinder 2-0 (ret); Vishnu Vardhan bt Alex Solanki 6-3, 6-2. Doubles (quarters): Sriram Balaji/Vishnu Vardhan bt Aryan Goves/Pungliya Jayesh 6-3, 6-3; Tyler/Sanam Singh bt  Rishabdev/Ajai Selvaraj 7-6(3), 6-2; Anand Kunal/Anvit bt Prashanth/Shanmugam 6-2, 7-6(2); Bava Haadin/Kaliyanda Poonacha bt Mohammed Fahad/Nithin Kumar 6-4, 6-7(2).

Former umpire no more

TNCA president N Srinivasan and members expressed their profound sorrow on the passing away of former umpire KV Arunachalam. He was 78 years old.

Prajnesh bags crown

Top seed Prajnesh Gunneswaran defeated fourth seed N Sriram Balaji 3-6, 7-5,7-6 (3) in the final of the SR Subramaniam MCC ITF Men’s Futures.

Prathiba pockets title

Prathiba Prasad Narayan beat Prerna Vichare 7-6 (5), 2-6, 6-3 in the girls U-18 singles final of the Dr APJ Abdul Kalam Memorial Super Series tournament held at YMCA-TTT tennis court.

Results: Singles: Boys: U-18: Oges J Theyjo bt Rithvik Choudary Bollipalli (w/o); U-16: Oges J Theyjo bt Dipin Wadhwa 6-1, 6-2. Girls: U-18: Prathiba Prasad Narayan bt Prerna Vichare 7-6 (5), 2-6, 6-3; U-16: Paarvi Patel bt Prathiba Prasad Narayan 6-4, 6-2. Doubles: Boys: U-18: Rohit Krishna/Himanshu bt Dipin/Gurjot Sidhu 6-3, 7-6(4). Girls: U-18: Prathiba Narayan Prasad/Pragathi Narayan Prasad bt Sunskrithi Damera/Sudipta (w/o).

Kamesh scalps five

S Kamesh Kumar’s 5/21 helped United CC beat Autolec ERC by 28 runs in the Second Division TNCA-Thiruvallur DCA League. A Murali and R Vijai Chakaravarthi scored half-tons for the winners.

Brief scores (Division II): United CC 198/6 in 30 ovs (A Murali 58, R Vijay Chakaravarthi 52) bt Autolec ERC 170 in 27.1 ovs (K Balakumar 53; S Kamesh Kumar 5/21).

Stay up to date on all the latest Sport news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp