Smith century guides South Africa to 217-2

Published: 23rd November 2012 01:18 PM  |   Last Updated: 23rd November 2012 01:18 PM   |  A+A-


Graeme Smith survived two close calls to post his 26th test century and guide South Africa's comeback Friday after Morne Morkel's five-wicket haul swiftly stemmed Australia's run flow in the second cricket test.

South Africa reached stumps at 217-2 on day two in reply to Australia's first innings of 550, with Smith unbeaten on 111 and Jacques Rudolph on 25. The tourists were in a radically better position than they were at stumps the previous day, when Australia posted its second-highest first-day score of 482-5.

Morkel triggered Australia's tailend collapse when he bowled Michael Clarke for 230 and finished with 5-146. The Australians added only 68 in 21 overs before being dismissed just before lunch on Friday.

Australia, 1st Innings

(Overnight: 482-5)

David Warner c Smith b Morkel 119

Ed Cowan c and b Kallis 10

Rob Quiney c Smith b Morkel 0

Ricky Ponting b Kallis 4

Michael Clarke b Morkel 230

Mike Hussey b Steyn 103

Matthew Wade c de Villiers b Morkel 6

Peter Siddle c Smith b Kleinveldt 6

James Pattinson c Smith b Steyn 42

Ben Hilfenhaus c Kleinveldt b Morkel 0

Nathan Lyon not out 7

Extras: (11lb,1w,11nb) 23

TOTAL: (all out) 550.

Overs: 107.2.

Fall of wickets: 1-43, 2-44, 3-55, 4-210, 5-482, 6-494, 7-501, 8-503, 9-504, 10-550.

Bowling: Dale Steyn 23.4-4-79-2, Morne Morkel 30-5-146-5, Jacques Kallis 3.3-1-19-2, Rory Kleinveldt 20.1-4-81-1 (1w 6nb), Imran Tahir 23-0-180-0 (5nb), Faf du Plessis 7-0-34-0.

South Africa, 1st Innings

Graeme Smith not out 111

Alviro Petersen run out (Hussey) 54

Hashim Amla st Wade b Warner 11

Jacques Rudolph not out 25

Extras: (7b,2nb,3w,4nb) 16

TOTAL: (for two wickets) 217

Overs: 67.

Fall of wickets: 1-138, 2-169.

Still to bat: AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis, Jacques Kallis, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Rory Kleinveldt, Imran Tahir.

Bowling: Ben Hilfenhaus 12-4-36-0, James Pattinson 8-0-40-0 (4nb,1w), Nathan Lyon 24-2-53-0, Peter Siddle 12-3-34-0, Michael Clarke 3-0-10-0, Mike Hussey 1-0-7-0 (2w), David Warner 5-0-27-0, Rob Quiney 2-1-1-0.

Toss: won by Australia.

Umpires: Billy Bowden, New Zealand, and Richard Kettleborough, England.

TV Umpire: Asad Rauf, Pakistan. Match Referee: Ranjan Madugalle, Sri Lanka.

Stay up to date on all the latest Cricket news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp