New Zealand takes 168 1st-inning lead on Sri Lanka

Published: 28th November 2012 01:47 PM  |   Last Updated: 28th November 2012 01:47 PM   |  A+A-


Tim Southee and Trent Boult shared nine wickets between them as New Zealand quickly bowled out Sri Lanka's tailenders in Wednesday's morning session and took a 168-run first-innings lead in the second test.

New Zealand took the final four wickets for the addition of only 19 runs to the overnight score, dismissing the hosts for 244.

In their second innings at P.Sara Oval, the Black Caps were 59-2 at lunch on the penultimate day, for an overall lead of 227 and with a strong chance to square the series.


New Zealand 1st Innings 412

Sri Lanka 1st Innings

(Overnight 225-6)

Tharanga Paranavithana c van Wyk b Southee 40

Tillakaratna Dilshan b Southee 5

Kumar Sangakkara c Boult b Southee 0

Mahela Jayawardene c Williamson b Boult 4

Angelo Mathews c Guptill b Southee 47

Thilan Samaraweera c Guptill b Boult 76

Prasanna Jayawardene c Williamson b Patel 12

Suraj Randiv lbw b Boult 39

Nuwan Kulasekara c Taylor b Southee 6

Rangana Herath c Williamson b Boult 5

Shaminda Eranga not out 3

Extras: (3lb, 3nb, 1w) 7

TOTAL: (all out) 244

Overs: 94. Batting time: 422 minutes.

Fall of wickets: 1-7, 2-7, 3-12, 4-102, 5-103, 6-128, 7-225, 8-232, 9-240, 10-244.

Bowling: Tim Southee 22-4-62-5 (1nb), Trent Boult 21-7-42-4 (2nb, 1w), Jeetan Patel 22-3-47-1, Todd Astle 13-2-41-0, Doug Bracewell 13-1-44-0, Kane Williamson 3-1-5-0.

New Zealand 2nd Innings

Martin Guptill c Dilshan b Eranga 11

Brendon McCullum st P. Jayawardene b Herath 35

Kane Willamson not out 11

Ross Taylor not out 1

Extras: (nb 1) 1

TOTAL: (for two wickets) 59

Overs: 17 Batting time: 84 minutes

Fall of wickets: 1-32, 2-56.

Bowling: Nuwan Kulasekara 6-2-24-0, Shaminda Eranga 6-1-22-1 (1nb), Rangana Herath 5-1-13-1.

Toss: New Zealand.

Series: Sri Lanka leads 1-0 in two-match series.

Umpires: Marais Erasmus, South Africa, and Nigel Llong, England.

TV umpire: Ruchira Palliyaguruge, Sri Lanka. Match referee: Javagal Srinath, India.

Stay up to date on all the latest Cricket news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp