Sathish to lead Tamil Nadu in SZ T20 Tournament

Published: 20th March 2015 06:07 AM  |   Last Updated: 20th March 2015 06:07 AM   |  A+A-

CHENNAI: R Sathish of Jolly Rovers will lead a new-look, young Tamil Nadu side in the South Zone – Syed Mushtaq Ali T20  tournament which is to be played at Cochin from March 25 to 29.

Team: R Sathish (captain), K Bharath Shankar, B Aparajith, B Indrajith, Vijay Shankar, M Shahrukh Khan, U Sushil, Rahil S Shah, R Aushik Srinivas, Malolan Rangarajan, KH Gopinath, A Aswin Crist,  W Antony Dhas, Sunil Sam, Aniruda  Srikkanth.

Venkat Triumphs

Venkata Krishnan and Kiruthika won the 16th Sethu Bhaskara Rolling trophy for men and women respectively in the district Selection chess championship organised by Tiruvallur District Chess Association, held at Sethu Bhaskara MHSS.


The top four players in men and women categories will represent Thiruvallur district in the forthcoming Tamil Nadu state men & women FIDE-rated chess championship to be held at Trichy and Tiruvarur respectively.

Final Standings: Men:  1. R Venkata Krishnan, ICAE (7/7); 2. Thiruvenkadam, MAERSK (6); 3. RK Chopon Babu, Prodapt Solutions (6); 4. KR Krishnan, TI MAT (6); 5. S Muruges, GKSVVJC (6); P Balaji, Tube Products of India (6).

Women: 1. B Kiruthika, Nazerath MHSS, Avadi (4.5/5); 2. KR Kruthika, TI Matric School (4.5); 3. G Chanralekha, Jaya Public Mat.School, Thiruninravur (4); 4. PK Prasanna, House Wife (4); 5. SV Janani,Alfa Mat.School (3.5).

Pankaj Bags Crown

Pankaj Kadoo of Mumbai beat state-mate Sunil Kelkar 14-12,11-9,11-5,11-3 in the men’s final of the All-India major ports table tennis tournament.

Chennai FC Score

Chennai FC  beat Hindustan Eagles 3-0 in a St Joseph’s CFA Senior Division football league match here.

Results: Senior Division: Chennai FC  3 (A Donbosco, Jagba) bt Hindustan Eagles  0. Best Player: Jagba; Chennai City Police 1 (R Siva) drew with FCI 1 (Hemnath). Best player: Ashok Kumar (FCI). First Division: Income Tax RC 4 bt SBI 0.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp