Rohan Stars in Kerala Victory

Published: 03rd January 2016 03:58 AM  |   Last Updated: 03rd January 2016 03:58 AM   |  A+A-

KOCHI: Kerala started their campaign in the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Tournament with a bang as the hosts riding on a brilliant half-century (59 no) from P Rohan Prem floored Jammu and Kashmir in the Group B match.

batsman.jpgWinning the toss and chosing to field, Kerala bowlers kept the J&K batsmen in tight leash. Lanky medium-pacer Sandeep Warrier inflicted  first damage when Adil Reshi nicked him to Mohammed Azharudeen behind the stumps. One wicket down with just a run on the board, Bandeep Singh and Ahmed Bandy steadied the ship and stitched a 60-run partnership before Bandy was caught by Rohan off Raiphy Vincent Gomez in the deep cover.

In reply, Kerala had a terrible start with Jagadeesh edging Mohammed Mudhasir to wicketkeeper Bandeep in the very first ball. With Rohan Prem joining Mohammed Azharudheen in the middle, Kerala innings got a life. Rohan was brilliant on the square of the off-side and straight down the wicket. After starting with two boundaries of Rohit Sharma, Rohan kept the scoreboard ticking, with singles and occasional boundaries.

TN Thrash Haryana

Nagpur: Pacer Antony Dhas and leg-spinner M Ashwin shared seven wickets between them as Tamil Nadu thrashed Haryana by nine wickets in their opening group A match. The seasoned Virender Sehwag came a cropper, dismissed after adding just 3 runs. Later, Anirudha Srikkanth (54 not out) and Baba Aparajith (49 not out) ensured that TN chased down the paltry target.

Quick Wrap

Group A: Bengal 185/4 in 20 ovs (W Saha 81, S Mondal 50, C Milind 2/45) beat Hyderabad 124 in 16.2 ovs (Akshath 32, M Shami 3/18).

Gujarat 151/6 in 20 ovs (R Bhatt 40, A Chauhan 2/32) lost to Himachal Pradesh 152/5 in 19.3 ovs (P Chopra 89 n.o, R Kalaria 2/21).

Haryana 113 in 19.1 ovs (N Saini 50, W Antony Dhas 4/10, M Ashwin 3/28) lost to Tamil Nadu 116/1 in 16 ovs ( S Anirudha 54 n.o, B Aparajith 49 n.o).

Group B: Jammu & Kashmir 126/6 in 20 ovs (Bandeep 37, R Gomez 2/19) lost to Kerala 129/5 in 18.4 ovs (PR Prem 59).

Saurashtra 144/6 in 20 ovs (C Pujara 67, S Majumder 2/22) beat Tripura 78 in 17.3 ovs (D Punia 3/19, S Sanandia 2/21).

Punjab 130/6 in 20 ovs (Mandeep 76 n.o, R Bhatia 2/16) lost to Rajasthan 133/6 in 19.4 ovs (R Bishnoi 58, Yuvraj 2/16).

Group C: Andhra 95/9 in 20 ovs ( S Srinivas 22, I Pandey 4/20) lost to Madhya Pradesh 96/5 in 18.2 ovs (Harpreet 40 n.0, B Ayyappa 2-18).

Baroda 165/8 in 20 ovs (K Devdhar 48, D Hooda 48 n.o, A Nechim 2/35) beat Assam 116/9 in 20 ovs  (J Syed Mohammad 42, I Pathan 5/13).

Railways 210/2 in 20 ovs (Asad Pathan 81, S Wakaskar 118) lost to Delhi 214/6 in 19.2 ovs (A Kaushik 53, N Rana 34, K Upadhyay 2/36).

Group D: Maharashtra 109/7 in 12 ovs (K Jadhav 52; P Chawla 4/28) lost to Uttar Pradesh 113/3 in 11.2 ovs (P Gupta 35; SM Kazi 1/18).

Odisha 91 in 17.4 ovs (A Yadav 33; S Thakur 2/11) lost to Mumbai 95/4 in 15.5 ovs (A Tare 32; DR Behera 2/14).

Karnataka 121/9 in 20 ovs (Vinay 38; R Raj 3/19, D Rai 2/21) lost to Services 122/7 in 19 ovs (A Gupta 27, Yashpal 25; KC Kariappa 2/20).


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp